Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Cirque Du Freak: The Vampire's Assistant Details


Based on the popular series of books by Darren Shan, Cirque du Freak: The Vampire's Assistant tells the story of a small-town teen who inadvertently shatters a 200-year-old truce between warring factions of vampires. Sixteen-year-old Darren (Chris Massoglia) is your typical adolescent; he spends most of his time with his best friend, Steve (Josh Hutcherson), earns decent grades, and generally manages to stay out of trouble. But trouble finds Darren when he and Steve make the acquaintance of a vampire named Larten Crepsley (John C. Reilly) while attending a traveling freak show at a local theater. Transformed into a bloodsucker by Crepsley, Darren joins the Cirque Du Freak and quickly ingratiates himself with the unusual cast of characters who populate it, including Madame Truska the Bearded Lady (Salma Hayek) and the traveling sideshow's towering barker (Ken Watanabe). As Darren works to master his newfound powers as a budding member of the supernatural underworld, he becomes a valued pawn between the vampires and their deadlier rivals, the Vampaneze. With tensions between the two sects intensifying, Darren must figure out a means of keeping the coming war from destroying his last vestige of humanity. Patrick Fugit, Orlando Jones, Willem Dafoe, and Jane Krakowski co-star. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:October 23, 2009


John C. Reilly
as Larten Crepsley
Josh Hutcherson
as Steve
Chris Massoglia
as Darren Shan
Jessica Carlson
as Rebecca
Michael Cerveris
as Mr. Tiny
Ray Stevenson
as Murlaugh
Patrick Fugit
as Evra the Snake Boy
Morgan Saylor
as Annie
Don McManus
as Mr. Shan
Colleen Camp
as Mrs. Shan
Ken Watanabe
as Mr. Tall
Salma Hayek
as Madame Truska
Orlando Jones
as Alexander Ribs
Frankie R. Faison
as Rhamus Twobellies
Willem Dafoe
as Gavner Purl
Kristen Schaal
as Gertha Teeth
Patrick Breen
as Mr. Kersey
Tom Woodruff, Jr.
as Wolfman
Jane Krakowski
as Corma Limbs
Drew Varick
as Loaf Head
John Crawford
as Audience Member
Ritchie Montgomery
as Pastor
Ted Manson
as Policeman
Monica Monica
as Teacher
Adella Gautier
as Nurse
Beau Holden
as Trucker
Tyler Chetta
as Kid in Hallway
Shaun Grant
as Vampaneze
Trey Burvant
as Singing Father
Beth Burvant
as Singing Mother
Evelyn Burvant
as Singing Kid
Jonathan Nosan
as Hans Hands
Madeline Gaudet
as Shreiking Student
Erika Jensen
as Rain Girl
Armal J. Perkins
as Mr. Pipps


Paul Weitz
Paul Weitz
Andrew Miano
Lauren Shuler-Donner
Brian Helgeland
Paul Weitz
Darren Shan
Book Author
James Muro
Stephen Trask
Composer (Music Score)
Kathy Nelson
Musical Direction/Supervision
Leslie Jones
William Arnold
Production Designer
Seth Reed
Supervising Art Director
Domenic Silvestri
Art Director
John Swallow
Courtney Pledger
Executive Producer
Kerry Kohansky
Executive Producer
Rodney Liber
Executive Producer
Dan Kolsrud
Executive Producer
Mara LePere-Schloop
Set Designer
Judianna Makovsky
Costume Designer
David Smith
Set Decorator
Alec Gillis
Special Effects
Tom Woodruff, Jr.
Special Effects
K.C. Colwell
First Assistant Director
Joseph Middleton
James Chinlund
Visual Consultant
Craig Comstock
Second Assistant Director
Todd Shifflett
Visual Effects Supervisor
Phyllis Temple
Key Make-up
Lance Larson
Properties Master
Darrell Pritchett
Special Effects Coordinator
Richard Brunton
Jack Gill
Second Unit Director
Jack Gill
Stunts Coordinator
Lynda Ellenshaw Thompson
Visual Effects Producer
Annie Welles
Script Supervisor
Tom Woodruff, Jr.
Creature Effects
Arturo Rojas
Key Hairstylist
Fionagh Cush
Makeup Supervisor
Alec Gillis
Creature Effects
Dan Kolsrud
Unit Production Manager
Ray Quinlan
Unit Production Manager