Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Chéri Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P90460~Stephen Frears~stephenfrears]], the director who bolstered his international reputation with his [[Performer~P380800~Choderlos de Laclos~choderlosdelaclos]] adaptation [[Feature~V12171~Dangerous Liaisons~dangerousliaisons]] (1988), returns to the annals of period intrigue over 20 years later with this melodrama, which reunites him with [[Feature~V12171~Liasons~dangerousliaisons]] scripter [[Performer~P93288~Christopher Hampton~christopherhampton]] and star [[Performer~P56469~Michelle Pfeiffer~michellepfeiffer]]. An adaptation of [[Performer~P14126~Colette~colette]]'s 1920 novel of the same name, the tale unfurls in late 19th century Paris -- La Belle Époque -- where numerous courtesans (or female companions of noblemen who occupied the royal courts) have worked their way up through the ranks of high society. Two retired courtesans, Charlotte Peloux ([[Performer~P4516~Kathy Bates~kathybates]]) and Lea ([[Performer~P56469~Michelle Pfeiffer~michellepfeiffer]]), meet for some routine gossip; Lea then meets Charlotte's hedonistic playboy son, nicknamed "Chéri" ([[Performer~P447609~Rupert Friend~rupertfriend]]), and a passionate, erotic affair blossoms for the next six years between Lea and Chéri. Eventually, Charlotte makes an aggressive attempt to interfere with the situation by setting up an arranged marriage between Chéri and the virginal 18-year-old Edmée ([[Performer~P237485~Felicity Jones~felicityjones]]), the daughter of another ex-courtesan, Marie-Laure ([[Performer~P267030~Iben Hjejle~ibenhjejle]]). Lea feels irritated, and responds by seeking out young male lovers during a vacation in Biarritz, but the attached Chéri is not far behind, and in seemingly no time at all the two resume their bedroom liaisons. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

  • Release date:June 26, 2009

Cast

Michelle Pfeiffer
as Léa de Lonval
Kathy Bates
as Madame Peloux
Rupert Friend
as Chéri, Fred Peloux
Felicity Jones
as Edmée
Iben Hjejle
as Marie-Laure
Frances Tomelty
as Rose
Anita Pallenberg
as La Copine
Harriet Walter
as La Loupiote
Bette Bourne
as La Baronne
Gaye Brown
as Lilli
Tom Burke
as Vicomte Desmond
Nichola McAuliffe
as Madame Aldonza
Toby Kebbell
as Patron
Hubert Tellegen
as Ernest
Joe Sheridan
as Marcel
Alain Churin
as Priest
Andras Hamori
as Silver-Haired Industrialist
Rollo Weeks
as Guido
Natasha Cashman
as Madame Roland
Jim Bywater
as Clerk

Crew

Stephen Frears
Director
Andras Hamori
Producer
Bill Kenwright
Producer
Tracey Seaward
Producer
Thom Mount
Producer
Christopher Hampton
Screenwriter
Colette
Book Author
Darius Khondji
Cinematographer
Alexandre Desplat
Composer (Music Score)
Lucia Zucchetti
Editor
Alan Macdonald
Production Designer
Bastie Griese
Co-producer
Ralf Schmitz
Co-producer
Cameron Mccracken
Co-producer
Raphaël Benoliel
Co-producer
François Ivernel
Executive Producer
Cameron Mccracken
Executive Producer
Christopher Hampton
Executive Producer
Simon Fawcett
Executive Producer
Richard Temple
Executive Producer
Consolata Boyle
Costume Designer
Victoria Thomas
Casting
Leo Davis
Casting
Advertisement