Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Children's Hour Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Based on the 1934 play by [[Performer~P161219~Lillian Hellman~lillianhellman]], [[Feature~V140937~The Children's Hour~lahoradelosniños]] is set at an exclusive girl's school managed by best friends [[Performer~P31869~Audrey Hepburn~audreyhepburn]] and [[Performer~P44255~Shirley MacLaine~shirleymaclaine]]. When student [[Performer~P3564~Karen Balkin~karenbalkin]] is punished for one of her many misdeeds, the mean-spirited youngster rushes to her wealthy aunt [[Performer~P3331~Fay Bainter~faybainter]], and, randomly choosing a phrase she has undoubtedly read in some magazine, accuses [[Performer~P31869~Hepburn~audreyhepburn]] and MacLaine of having an "unnatural relationship." As [[Performer~P3564~Balkin~karenbalkin]]'s lies grow in viciousness, the student's parents withdraw their children from the school. [[Performer~P31869~Hepburn~audreyhepburn]] and MacLaine sue [[Performer~P3331~Bainter~faybainter]] for libel, only to lose their case when MacLaine's aunt [[Performer~P33202~Miriam Hopkins~miriamhopkins]] refuses to testify as a character witness. The trial takes its toll on the relationship between [[Performer~P31869~Hepburn~audreyhepburn]] and her boyfriend [[Performer~P25985~James Garner~jamesgarner]]. When [[Performer~P3331~Bainter~faybainter]] discovers that her niece has been lying, she tries to make amends, but it is too late. Director [[Performer~P117452~William Wyler~williamwyler]] had also helmed the first film version of Children's Hour, 1936's [[Feature~V49402~These Three~thesethree]], which due to censorship restrictions of the time did without the lesbian angle (the little girl's accusations involved a supposed romantic triangle between the two ladies and a male friend). [[Performer~P33202~Miriam Hopkins~miriamhopkins]], who plays a supporting role in [[Feature~V140937~The Children's Hour~lahoradelosniños]], originally essayed the [[Performer~P44255~Shirley MacLaine~shirleymaclaine]] role in [[Feature~V49402~These Three~thesethree]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:December 19, 1961

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Fay Bainter Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 1961 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Fay Bainter Best Supporting Actress 1961 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Shirley MacLaine Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama 1961 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association William Wyler Best Director 1961 Nominee
Directors Guild of America William Wyler Best Director 1961 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Fernando Carrere Best Black and White Art Direction 1961 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Franz Planer Best Black and White Cinematography 1961 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Gordon Sawyer Best Sound 1961 Nominee

Cast

Audrey Hepburn
as Karen Wright
Shirley MacLaine
as Martha Dobie
James Garner
as Dr. Joe Cardin
Miriam Hopkins
as Mrs. Lily Mortar
Fay Bainter
as Amelia Tilford
Karen Balkin
as Mary Tilford
Veronica Cartwright
as Rosalie
Hope Summers
as Old Lady
William Mims
Mimi Gibson
as Student
Florence MacMichael

Crew

William Wyler
Director
William Wyler
Producer
Robert Wyler
Producer
Lillian Hellman
Play Author
John Michael Hayes
Screenwriter
Franz Planer
Cinematographer
Alex North
Composer (Music Score)
Robert Swink
Editor
Fernando Carrere
Art Director
Fred Lau
Sound/Sound Designer
Emile LaVigne
Makeup
Advertisement