Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Chicken Run Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Aardman Animations, the British clay-animation studio that created a cult sensation (and won three Academy awards) with its short subjects featuring Wallace and Gromit, presents its first feature film, a mixture of comedy and adventure. Mrs. Tweedy (voice of [[Performer~P60083~Miranda Richardson~mirandarichardson]]) operates a chicken farm, where most of the birds have resigned themselves to a short and uneventful life of producing eggs and ending up as the main course of someone's Sunday dinner. But when Rocky (voice of [[Performer~P91479~Mel Gibson~melgibson]]), a rooster from America, arrives on the farm, things begin to change. Rocky soon finds romance with a hen named Ginger (voice of [[Performer~P199242~Julia Sawalha~juliasawalha]]) who longs for a better life and has been trying to find a way out of the farm for some time; together they devise a plan to escape to freedom. However, Rocky and Ginger soon find themselves racing against the clock when Mrs. Tweedy decides it's time to turn the entire flock into chicken pies. [[Performer~P218190~Nick Park~nickpark]], director of the Wallace and Gromit shorts, co-directed Chicken Run with [[Performer~P276878~Peter Lord~peterlord]], who produced several Aardman projects and created animation for the TV series Pee-Wee's Playhouse. The voice cast also includes [[Performer~P33304~Jane Horrocks~janehorrocks]], [[Performer~P16895~Phil Daniels~phildaniels]], and [[Performer~P67069~Timothy Spall~timothyspall]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:June 21, 2000

Cast

Mel Gibson
as Rocky
Julia Sawalha
as Ginger
Miranda Richardson
as Mrs. Tweedy
Jane Horrocks
as Babs
Lynn Ferguson
as Mac
Imelda Staunton
as Bunty
Benjamin Whitrow
as Fowler
Anthony Haygarth
as Mr. Tweedy
Timothy Spall
as Nick
Phil Daniels
as Fetcher

Crew

Peter Lord
Director
Nick Park
Director
Nick Park
Producer
Peter Lord
Producer
David Sproxton
Producer
Peter Lord
Screen Story
Nick Park
Screen Story
Karey Kirkpatrick
Screenwriter
Frank Passingham
Cinematographer
Harry Gregson-Williams
Composer (Music Score)
John Powell
Composer (Music Score)
Mark Solomon
Editor
Jan Sanger
Production Designer
Tim Farrington
Art Director
Lenny Young
Associate Producer
Jeffrey Katzenberg
Executive Producer
Jake Eberts
Executive Producer
Michael Rose
Executive Producer
Alastair Green
Set Designer
Sally Taylor
Costume Designer
Fred de Bradeny
First Assistant Director
Patsy Pollock
Casting
Graham Headicar
Supervising Sound Editor
Carla Shelley
Line Producer
Dave Alex Riddett
Supervising Cinematographer
John O'Farrell
Additional Dialogue
Loyd Price
Supervising Animator
Adrian Rhodes
Re-Recording Mixer
Mark Burton
Additional Dialogue
Advertisement