Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Changing Lanes Details


Director Roger Michell follows up the hit romantic comedy Roger Michell (1999) with this thought-provoking thriller. Ben Affleck and Samuel L. Jackson star, respectively, as Gavin Banek and Doyle Gibson, two New York men whose lives become accidentally intertwined in a Good Friday fender bender on the FDR Drive. Late for a crucial appointment, hotshot lawyer Gavin tosses Doyle a blank check and leaves the scene, while Doyle, whose car is inoperable, is late for a court-appointed custody hearing. A recovering alcoholic, Doyle's tardiness doesn't sit well with the judge, who - sick of waiting for Gipson - grants custody to Doyle's ex-wife in Doyle's absence. The situation worsens when it becomes evident that Doyle has an equally important file belonging to Gavin, which proves that an elderly man gave Banek's firm power-of-attorney over his foundation. So begins an escalating war of words and deeds between the two men. Soon, egged on by an associate (Toni Collette), Gavin hires a "fixer" (Dylan Baker) to destroy Doyle's credit, forcing Doyle to fire back with some cunning moves of his own. Changing Lanes co-stars William Hurt, Sydney Pollack, and Toni Collette. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:April 12, 2002


Ben Affleck
as Gavin Banek
Samuel L. Jackson
as Doyle Gipson
Toni Collette
as Michelle
Sydney Pollack
as Andrew Delano
William Hurt
as Doyle's sponsor
Amanda Peet
as Cynthia Banek
Kim Staunton
as Valerie Gipson
Richard Jenkins
as Walter Arnell
John Benjamin Hickey
as Carlyle
Jennifer Dundas Lowe
as Mina Dunne
Dylan Baker
as Finch
Matt Malloy
as Ron Cabot
Susan Blackwell
as newsroom producer
Tony Machine
as office worker
Carolyn Feldschuh
as office worker
Joe Grifasi
as Judge Cosell
Jordan Gelber
as priest
Michael Patrick McGrath
as Seavers
Lisa Vogel
as family court
Alyson Renaldo
as newsroom executive producer
Jewel Brimage
as teacher
John Kohl
as family court
Anthony DiGiacomo
as newsroom associate director
James Soviero
as newsrom associate producer
Angela Goethals
as Sarah Windsor
Leonard Thomas
as newsroom reporter
Richard Kelly
as AA group leader
Ileen Getz
as Ellen
Akil Walker
as Stephen Gipson
Harriet Rosenthal
as family court
Angel Caban
as security guard ar school
Juanma Lara
as orchestra children
Genevieve Elam
as waitress
James Lovelett
as security guard at school
Bradley Cooper
as Gordon Pinella
Jayne Houdyshell
as Miss Tetley
Vanessa Quel
as Kate
Caleb Archer
as kid on bike
Gilbert Williams
as Mike
Suzanne Hevner
as Delanos secretary
Richard Velasco
as newsroom director
Raymond Anthony Thomas
as Cop at Precint
Father Bonneau
as himslef
Tina Sloan
as Mrs Delano
Bruce Altman
as Joe Kaufman
Michael Pitt
as music teacher/conductor
Neal Jones
as newsroom writer
Anastasia Rojas
as orchestra children
Bob Heffernan
as Simon Dunne
Selena Blake
as insurance broker
Pamela Hart
as newscaster
Shabazz Richardson
as cops at precinct
Julia Gibson
as receptionist as AD & S
Lisa Leguillou
as Gina Gugliotta
Noel Wilson
as bartender at Arlo's
Susan Varon
as Buckburg, Sheryl
Myra Lucretia-Taylor
as Judge Abarbanel
Olga Merediz
as Mrs Miller


Roger Michell
Scott Rudin
Michael Tolkin
Chap Taylor
Chap Taylor
Screen Story
Salvatore Totino
David M. Dunlap
David Arnold
Composer (Music Score)
Jane McCulley
Harry Peck Bolles
Christopher Tellefsen
Kristi Zea
Production Designer
Sarah Frank
Art Director
Steven W. Graham
Art Director
James C. Feng
Art Director
Scott Aversano
Adam Schroeder
Executive Producer
Ron Bozman
Executive Producer
Debra Schutt
Set Designer
Ann Roth
Costume Designer
Warren Shaw
Sound/Sound Designer
Peter Kunz
Special Effects
Anthony Hemingway
First Assistant Director
Michael Steel
First Assistant Director
Timothy Donohue
First Assistant Director
Chris Norr
Camera Operator
Bruce MacCallum
Camera Operator
Danny Michael
Sound Mixer
Brune Winant
Marcia de Bonis
Ryan Collinson
Sound Mixer
Ron Bozman
Production Manager
Ellen Lewis
Sonny Kompanek
Paul Soucek
Sound Effects Editor
Bob Baron
ADR Mixer
Maria Bierniak
Location Manager
Jacob Ribicoff
Sound Effects Editor
Brick Mason
Storyboard Artist
Linda Grimes
Harry Higgins
Re-Recording Mixer
Dina Eaton
Music Editor
Ken Bates
Additional Cinematography
Warren Shaw
Supervising Sound Editor
Brian Vancho
Foley Artist
Reid Burns
Visual Effects Supervisor
Dashiell Rae
Music Editor
Barrett Hong
Costumes Supervisor
Stuart Stanley
Sound Special Effects
Jac Rubenstein
Dialogue Editor
Donna Maloney
Costumes Supervisor
Noah Vivekanand Timan
Sound Effects Editor
Werner Sherer
Hair Styles
Lori Machens
Post Production Supervisor
Milton Buras
Hair Styles
Peter Gleaves
ADR Mixer
Robert Olari
Re-Recording Mixer
Jery Hewitt
Stunts Coordinator
Catherine Gore
Script Supervisor
Al Cerullo