Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Chances Are Details


Handsome young Washington attorney Louie Jeffries ([[Performer~P47257~Chris McDonald~christophermcdonald]]) has it all: a promising career, a beautiful wife, and a baby on the way. But after discovering a local judge is in cahoots with the Mob, Louie bites it in a car crash and finds himself in Heaven. Unsatisfied with the customer service he's receiving, Louie jumps the gun and gets himself reincarnated -- before being administered the magic injection that will remove his memories of his former life. For the next quarter-century, Louie's museum curator wife, Corinne ([[Performer~P65168~Cybill Shepherd~cybillshepherd]]), remains true to her husband's memory, ignoring the frustrated devotion of Louie's best friend, Philip Train ([[Performer~P53567~Ryan O'Neal~ryanoneal]]). Meanwhile, Louie's soul grows up in the body of Alex Finch ([[Performer~P19966~Robert Downey Jr.~robertdowneyjr]]), an aspiring journalist. Alex's memories of his life as Louie return after he becomes romantically involved with Miranda ([[Performer~P46328~Mary Stuart Masterson~marystuartmasterson]]) -- the daughter he never got to meet. Soon, Alex/Louie is romancing his wife, spurning his daughter's advances, and frustrating Philip's attempts finally to woo Corinne. Written by [[Feature~V34238~Mystic Pizza~mysticpizza]] scribes [[Performer~P95015~Perry~perryhowze]] and [[Performer~P95016~Randy Howze~randyhowze]] and directed by [[Performer~P79880~Emile Ardolino~emileardolino]] of [[Feature~V13874~Dirty Dancing~dirtydancing]] fame, Chances Are didn't score as well at the box office as those earlier comedies. Its soundtrack, however, generated the hit [[Performer~P84587~Peter Cetera~petercetera]] and [[Performer~P12664~Cher~cher]] ballad "After All." ~ Brian J. Dillard, Rovi

  • Release date:March 10, 1989


Awarded by
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Dean Pitchford Best Original Song 1989 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Dean Pitchford Best Song 1989 Nominee


Cybill Shepherd
as Corinne Jeffries
Robert Downey, Jr.
as Alex Finch
Ryan O'Neal
as Philip Train
Mary Stuart Masterson
as Miranda Jeffries
Christopher McDonald
as Louie Jeffries
Josef Sommer
as Judge Fenwick
Joe Grifasi
as Omar
Susan Ruttan
as Woman in Bookstore
Fran Ryan
as Mavis Talmadge
James Noble
as Dr. Bailey
Ricardo de Angelis
as Hot Dog Vendor
Martin Garner
as Mr. Zellerbach
Franchelle Dorn
as Receptionist
Marc McClure
as Richard
Carey Hauser
as Paramedic
Max Trumpower
as Minister
Channing Chase
as Aide at Smithsonian
Nat Benchley
as Marshal
June Thorne
as Clerk of the Court
Mimi Kennedy
as Sally
Gianni Russo
as Anthony Bonino
Don Richards
as Bonino's Defense Attorney
Andrew Reilly
as Limbodrome Staff
Dennis Mancini
as Minister
Jacquelyn Drake
as Bradlee's Secretary
Kathleen Freeman
as Mrs. Handy
Cliff McMullen
as Marshal
Henderson Forsythe
as Ben Bradlee


Emile Ardolino
Michael Lobell
Perry Howze
Randy Howze
William A. Fraker
Jack Priestley
Maurice Jarre
Composer (Music Score)
Harry Keramidas
Duane Hartzell
Dennis Washington
Production Designer
Leslie Benziger
Associate Producer
Andrew Bergman
Executive Producer
Neil Machlis
Executive Producer
Robert R. Benton
Set Designer
Albert Wolsky
Costume Designer
Stan Parks
Special Effects
Yudi Bennett
First Assistant Director
Aldric La'Auli Porter
First Assistant Director
William Steiner Jr.
Camera Operator
John Hock
G.A. Aguilar
Spike Silver
Phil Fravel
Corey Michael Eubanks
John Moio
Miranda Garrison
Judy Taylor
Mike Fenton
Mychal Smith
Cable Person
Michael Steciuk
Doc Kane
ADR Mixer
Stuart Stein
Second Assistant Camera
Dean Drabin
Foley Mixer
Sharon Gerhard
Second Second Assistant Director
Greg Walters
Second Assistant Camera
Jules Strasser
Boom Operator
Sandy Brooke
First Assistant Camera
Ty Suehiro
Best Boy Grip
Barbara Gutman
First Assistant Accountant
Lynda Gurasich
Hair Styles
Stuart Neumann
Location Manager
Susan Kalinowski
Hair Styles
Kenneth Searle
Transportation Captain
Mark Zachary
Production Assistant
Jack Priestley
Second Unit Director
Neil Machlis
Unit Production Manager
Larry Carow
Sound Editor
Alexandra Leviloff
First Assistant Editor
Paul Timothy Carden
ADR Supervisor
Paul Timothy Carden
Sound Editor
Kathy Durning
Music Editor
Larry Lennert
Hair Styles
Chris Moseley
Second Assistant Camera
Peter Garofalo
Jeff Bushelman
Sound Editor
Bruce Ericksen
Costumes Supervisor
Jennifer Neiman
Production Accountant
Shelley Kirkwood
Unit Publicist
Cynnie Troup
Script Supervisor
Gary Kudroff
Set Dresser
Chuck Neely
Sound Editor
Mario Iscovich
Location Manager
Jeffrey Pentek
Greg Langham
Alicia Stevenson
Foley Artist
Darin Knight
Production Sound Mixer
Al Laverde
Key Grip
Gemma La Mana
Still Photographer
Kim Magnusson
Production Assistant
Carolyn Mock
First Assistant Accountant
Cheri Minns
Gilbert Young
Transportation Captain
Romaine Greene
Hair Styles
Mel Metcalfe
Re-Recording Mixer
Lori Stilson
Costumes Assistant
Martin Nelson
Second Assistant Editor
Bruce Wineinger
Construction Coordinator
Norman Lang
Michele Imperato
Assistant Production Coordinator
Jane Urbanczyk
Production Assistant
Donald J. Lee, Jr.
Second Assistant Director
Kaori Turner
Joel Marrow
Transportation Coordinator
Terry Porter
Re-Recording Mixer
Mike Higelmire
Set Dresser
Gary A. Hecker
Foley Artist
John Moio
Stunts Coordinator