Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Cedar Rapids Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A childlike insurance salesman discovers his inner grown-up in this comedy from director [[Performer~P221426~Miguel Arteta~miguelarteta]] and producer [[Performer~P105871~Alexander Payne~alexanderpayne]]. Tim Lippe ([[Performer~P393201~Ed Helms~edhelms]]) sells insurance for a living. He's passionate about his career, so when the top salesman at the company dies on the eve of a big industry convention in Cedar Rapids, IA, his boss, Bill ([[Performer~P61394~Stephen Root~stephenroot]]), decides that Tim should take the trip to represent their company, and possibly accept a major award. Trouble is, not only has Tim never been on an airplane before, but he's in such a state of arrested development that he's even started sleeping with his former elementary school teacher Mrs. Vanderhei ([[Performer~P75144~Sigourney Weaver~sigourneyweaver]]). Arriving at the convention ready to put his best foot forward, Tim hits it off with his hotel roommate Ron ([[Performer~P76009~Isiah Whitlock Jr.~isiahwhitlockjr]]), but is soon thrust out of his comfort zone when he learns they will be sharing a room with their amoral, hard-partying colleague Dean ([[Performer~P59476~John C. Reilly~johncreilly]]), whom Tim has been instructed to avoid at all costs. Later, when the three unlikely roommates meet up with fellow insurance slinger Joan ([[Performer~P31463~Anne Heche~anneheche]]), the chemistry just clicks. However, when the ultra-conservative president of the entire organization ([[Performer~P66474~Kurtwood Smith~kurtwoodsmith]]) catches Tim in a compromising position, it all starts to fall apart. Now, if Tim can just shed his illusions and finally see the truth about the people he always looked up to, perhaps he can find the courage to recapture his integrity, and return home and face the future with a newfound sense of self-assurance. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:February 11, 2011

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Phil Johnston Best First Screenplay 2011 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards John C. Reilly Best Supporting Male 2011 Nominee

Cast

Ed Helms
as Tim Lippe
John C. Reilly
as Dean Ziegler
Anne Heche
as Joan Ostrowski-Fox
Isiah Whitlock, Jr.
as Ronald Wilkes
Stephen Root
as Bill Krogstad
Kurtwood Smith
as Orrin Helgeson
Alia Shawkat
as Bree
Thomas Lennon
as Roger Lemke
Rob Corddry
as Gary
Mike O'Malley
as Mike Pyle
Sigourney Weaver
as Macy Vanderhei
Inga Wilson
as Gwen Lemke
Mike Birbiglia
as Trent
Seth Morris
as Uncle Ken
Sudhi Rajagopal
as Rock Climbing Dude #2
Charlie Sanders
as TSA Agent
Tracey Maloney
as Flight Attendant
Steve Blackwood
as Lindy
Lisa Lacasse
as Lila
Teresa Yenque
as Maid
Ed Jewett
as Bearded Dude
Michael Buie
as Brian Early
Bruce Lawson
as Customer #4
Penny Gibbs
as ASMI Representative

Crew

Miguel Arteta
Director
Jim Burke
Producer
Alexander Payne
Producer
Jim Taylor
Producer
Phil Johnston
Screenwriter
Chuy Chavez
Cinematographer
Christophe Beck
Composer (Music Score)
Margaret Yen
Musical Direction/Supervision
Eric Kissack
Editor
Doug Meerdink
Production Designer
Brian Bell
Co-producer
Ed Helms
Executive Producer
Hope Hanafin
Costume Designer
Jeanette Scott
Set Decorator
Lawrence Karman
Camera Operator
David Price
Production Supervisor
Gary Wayton
Stunts Coordinator
Brian Bell
Unit Production Manager
Banzai Vitale
Stunts Coordinator
Veda Semarne
Script Supervisor
Scott August
Second Assistant Director
Andrew DeCristofaro
Supervising Sound Editor
Advertisement