Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Sep. 02, 2014

Casper Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Based on the popular cartoon character, this family-oriented "ghost story" is about a not-so-scary spirit who bonds with a little girl ([[Performer~P59916~Christina Ricci~christinaricci]]). The eternally irritable Ms. Carrigan ([[Performer~P50679~Cathy Moriarty~cathymoriarty]]) discovers that the only thing she's been left in her recently departed father's will is a rickety old house in New England. Naturally, the woman is furious about this, until her "close personal friend" and assistant, Dibbs ([[Performer~P95365~Eric Idle~ericidle]] of Monty Python fame), discovers a secret message that a treasure may be concealed somewhere in the house. The two take off for Maine, only to learn that the house is haunted by Casper "the friendly ghost" and his three ghostly uncles Stinky, Stretch, and Fatso. After futilely recruiting an exorcist ([[Performer~P53134~Don Novello~donnovello]], more or less reviving his Father Guido Sarducci character from [[Feature~V108912~Saturday Night Live~saturdaynight]]) and a "professional ghost exterminator" ([[Performer~P80282~Dan Aykroyd~danaykroyd]]), she brings in a "ghost psychiatrist" ([[Performer~P58045~Bill Pullman~billpullman]]) and his daughter Kat ([[Performer~P59916~Ricci~christinaricci]]). Innocently attracted to the young girl, Casper befriends Kat as they try to save the ghosts' home from the evil Carrigan. Eye-popping special effects highlight this magical story that touches (albeit lightly) on the theme of what lies at the heart of human desires. Clint Eastwood, Rodney Dangerfield, Mel Gibson and The Crypt Keeper (of Tales from the Crypt) all make cameos as apparitions in the mirror [[Performer~P58045~Bill Pullman~billpullman]] looks into in the house. ~ Don Kaye, Rovi

  • Release date:May 26, 1995

Cast

Christina Ricci
as Kat Harvey
Bill Pullman
as Dr. Harvey
Cathy Moriarty
as Carrigan Crittenden
Eric Idle
as Dibs
Malachi Pearson
as Casper
Joe Nipote
as Stretch
Ernestine Mercer
as Woman Being Interviewed
Spencer Vrooman
as Andreas
Brad Garrett
as Fatso
Mike Simmrin
as Phantom
Wesley Thompson
as Mr Curtis
Devon Sawa
as Casper in Person
John Kassir
as Crypt Keeper
Joe Alaskey
as Stinkie
Ben Stein
as Rugg
Clint Eastwood
as Himself (uncredited)
Mel Gibson
as Himself (uncredited)
Amy Brenneman
as Amelia Harvey
Garette Ratliff Henson
as Vic
J.J. Anderson
as Student
Chauncey Leopardi
as Nicky
Dan Aykroyd
as Doctor Raymond Stantz (uncredited)
Rodney Dangerfield
as Himself (uncredited)
Don Novello
as Father Guido Sarducci
Jessica Wesson
as Amber

Crew

Brad Silberling
Director
Gerald R. Molen
Producer
Sheri Stoner
Screenwriter
Deanna Oliver
Screenwriter
Dean Cundey
Cinematographer
Erich Wolfgang Korngold
Featured Music
James Horner
Songwriter
James Horner
Composer (Music Score)
Michael Kahn
Editor
Leslie Dilley
Production Designer
Ed Verreaux
Art Director
Daniel Maltese
Art Director
Steve Waterman
Co-producer
Jeff Franklin
Co-producer
Paul Deason
Associate Producer
Jerry Molen
Executive Producer
Steven Spielberg
Executive Producer
Rosanna Norton
Costume Designer
Michael Lantieri
Special Effects
Steven E. Andrews
First Assistant Director
Dennis Muren
Supervisor/Manager
Phil Nibbelink
Animator
Raymond Stella
Camera Operator
Gary Hymes
Stunts
Seth Arnett
Stunts
Nancy Nayor
Casting
Ray Colcord
Additional Music
Christina Smith
Makeup
Advertisement