Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Casino Royale Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Retired after years of international espionage, Agent 007 is lured back into action to battle the evil spy organization SMERSH in this notoriously incoherent parody of the [[Feature~V158529~James Bond~jamesbond[filmseries]]] films. [[Performer~P52791~David Niven~davidniven]] portrays the aging Bond, who atypically rejects the advances of a variety of women, and agrees to battle SMERSH's hold on the lavish Casino Royale only after organization head M is murdered. Also mixed up in the affair are several other secret agents, all named James Bond, played by everyone from [[Performer~P64447~Peter Sellers~petersellers]] and [[Performer~P79388~Woody Allen~woodyallen]] to a chimpanzee. Despite a star-studded cast, a large production budget, and a hit score by [[Performer~P80337~Burt Bacharach~burtbacharach]], the film was universally panned as a muddled, overlong failure, with the occasional amusing sequence lost in the unintelligible surroundings. The participation of several screenwriters and five different directors, including [[Performer~P95260~John Huston~johnhuston]], only adds to the confusion. ~ Judd Blaise, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Burt Bacharach Best Song 1967 Nominee

Cast

Peter Sellers
as Evelyn Tremble
Ursula Andress
as Vesper Lynd
David Niven
as Sir James Bond
Orson Welles
as Le Chiffre
Woody Allen
as Jimmy Bond/Dr. Noah
Joanna Pettet
as Mata Bond
Daliah Lavi
as The Detainer (007)
William Holden
as Ransome
Charles Boyer
as Le Grand
John Huston
as McTarry
George Raft
as Himself
Jean-Paul Belmondo
as French Legionnaire
Terence Cooper
as Cooper
Barbara Bouchet
as Miss Moneypenny
Angela Scoular
as Buttercup
Gabriella Licudi
as Eliza
Tracey Crisp
as Heather
Jacqueline Bisset
as Miss Goodthighs
Anna Quayle
as Frau Hoffner
Derek Nimmo
as Hadley
Ronnie Corbett
as Polo
Colin Gordon
as Casino Director
Tracy Reed
as Fang Leader
Graham Stark
as Cashier
Richard Wattis
as British Army Officer
Percy Herbert
as First Piper
John Bluthal
as Casino Doorman
Vladek Sheybal
as Le Chiffre's Representative
Jeanne Roland
as Captain of the Gurads
Elaine Taylor
as Peg
Chic Murray
as Chic
Bernard Cribbins
as Taxi Driver
Deborah Kerr
as Lady Fiona McTarry
Peter O'Toole
as Piper (uncredited)
John Wells
as Q's Assistant
Kurt Kasznar
as Smernov
Alexandra Bastedo
as Meg
Geoffrey Bayldon
as Q
John Le Mesurier
as Driver (uncredited)

Crew

Joseph McGrath
Director
Robert Parrish
Director
John Huston
Director
Ken Hughes
Director
Val Guest
Director
Jerry Bresler
Producer
Joseph Heller
Screenwriter
Michael Sayers
Screenwriter
Val Guest
Screenwriter
Billy Wilder
Screenwriter
Terry Southern
Screenwriter
Ben Hecht
Screenwriter
Jack Hildyard
Cinematographer
Nicolas Roeg
Cinematographer
Burt Bacharach
Composer (Music Score)
Bill Lenny
Editor
Ivor Beddoes
Art Director
Lionel Couch
Art Director
Julie Harris
Costume Designer
Tutte Lemkow
Choreography
Roy Baird
Assistant Director
Advertisement