Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Caretaker Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The Guest is a filmed adaptation of the [[Performer~P106552~Harold Pinter~haroldpinter]] play of the same name. [[Performer~P57070~Donald Pleasence~donaldpleasence]] plays a laconic tramp, who is invited to stay in the home of [[Performer~P229276~Robert Shaw~robertshaw]], on the implied promise that he, Pleasence, will be hired as caretaker. Shaw's off-in-the-coop brother Alan Bates is delighted to have Pleasence around...to "play" with. In the manner of Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf, Shaw and Bates uses Pleasence as a punching bag for their own hang-ups. Photographed with the proper degree of claustrophobia by [[Performer~P108672~Nicolas Roeg~nicolasroeg]], The Caretaker was independently produced by a celebrity consortium including [[Performer~P83664~Richard Burton~richardburton]], [[Performer~P70015~Elizabeth Taylor~elizabethtaylor]], [[Performer~P64447~Peter Sellers~petersellers]], and [[Performer~P86099~Noel Coward~noëlcoward]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Alan Bates
as Mick
Donald Pleasence
as Davis
Robert Shaw
as Aston
Robert Stack

Crew

Clive Donner
Director
Harold Pinter
Play Author
Harold Pinter
Screenwriter
Nicolas Roeg
Cinematographer
Ron Grainer
Composer (Music Score)
Fergus McDonell
Editor
Reece Pemberton
Art Director
Advertisement