Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Career Opportunities Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P227953~John Hughes~johnhughes]] strip-mines familiar terrain -- in this case his own past successes -- in this comedy that [[Performer~P227953~Hughes~johnhughes]] produced and scripted, directed by [[Performer~P92093~Bryan Gordon~bryangordon]]. [[Performer~P75742~Frank Whaley~frankwhaley]] stars as Jim Dodge, a 21-year-old con-man who goes from job to job but likes to put on a facade of success. As Career Opportunities begins, he has just been fired from another job and has been hired by the local Target store manager (played by an un-credited [[Performer~P10608~John Candy~johncandy]]) as the night cleanup boy. After the manager locks Jim in the store overnight, he goes on a binge -- playing with the skates, eating candy, watching television, and blasting the stereos. But then Jim discovers that he is not the only person in the store. Also there is rich girl Josie McClellan ([[Performer~P14510~Jennifer Connelly~jenniferconnelly]]) who is spending the night in the store to get her father worried about her. Although Jim knew Josie in high school, when Josie wouldn't even give him the time of day, here they click like two castanets and they romp around the store aisles to a pounding rock score. But just at the moment when Jim and Josie plan to run away together with the $52,000 Josie holds in her purse, two low-rent comic thieves -- Nestor Pyle ([[Performer~P51293~Dermot Mulroney~dermotmulroney]]) and Gil Kinney ([[Performer~P51294~Kieran Mulroney~kieranmulroney]]) -- break into the store and Jim and Josie decide to stick it out, saving the store from the bumbling crooks. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:March 29, 1991

Cast

Frank Whaley
as Jim Dodge
Jennifer Connelly
as Josie McClellan
Dermot Mulroney
as Nestor Pyle
John M. Jackson
as Bud Dodge
Kieran Mulroney
as Gil Kinney
Barry Corbin
as Officer Don
Jenny O'Hara
as Dotty Dodge
John Candy
as C.D. Marsh (uncredited)
Noble Willingham
as Roger Roy McClellan
Coleby Lombardo
Andy Greenway
as Boy #2
RonReaco Lee
as Boy #3
Troy M. Gilbert
as Boy in Car
Jonathan Stark
Reid Binion
as Cal Dodge
David Arnott
Andrew Winton
as Boy #1
Paige Pollack
as Voiceover
Pam Dixon
Gary Schwartz
Joanna Lipari
Nada Despotovich
as Penny Dodge
Danny Nelson
as Gas Station Owner
Leigh French
Wilbur Fitzgerald
as Bob Bosenbeck
Benji Wilhoite
as Stock Boy
William Forsythe
as Custodian
Dan Albright
as Dave Hockner
Lou Walker
as Farmer in Cafe
David McCharen
Royce D. Applegate
Denise Galik
as Lorraine
Marc Clement
as Otis

Crew

Bryan Gordon
Director
Hunt Lowry
Producer
John Hughes
Producer
John Hughes
Screenwriter
Donald M. McAlpine
Cinematographer
Thomas Newman
Composer (Music Score)
G. Marq Roswell
Musical Direction/Supervision
Glenn Farr
Editor
Peck Prior
Editor
Paul Sylbert
Production Designer
Karen Koch
Production Designer
Guy Barnes
Art Director
Kathe Klopp
Set Designer
Betsy Cox
Costume Designer
Troy M. Gilbert
Stunts
Frederic W. Brost
Production Manager
Pam Dixon
Casting
Advertisement