Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Carbine Williams Details


The tougher postwar screen image of [[Performer~P229307~James Stewart~jamesstewart]] is given a good workout in the fact-based Carbine Williams. In 1952, the world at large knew Marsh Williams as the developer of the US Army's M-1 carbine rifle. The film builds up to this event by detailing Williams' previous existence as a bootlegger and embittered prison inmate, sentenced to 30 years at hard labor for killing a revenue agent. After enduring the rigors of chain-gang life and solitary confinement, Williams (Stewart) gets his mind off his troubles by dreaming up a new type of automatic-gun piston. He is encouraged in this endeavor by prison warden H. T. Peoples ([[Performer~P15017~Wendell Corey~wendellcorey]]), previously Williams' bitterest enemy. As Williams continues to develop his innovative weaponry notions, his wife Maggie ([[Performer~P29551~Jean Hagen~jeanhagen]]) and Warden Peoples try to overcome penal bureaucracy to win a pardon for Williams. Some TV prints of Carbine Williams have been colorized by computer; despite this artistically offensive practice, the strong dramatic and human values of the story still shine. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi


James Stewart
as Marsh Williams
Jean Hagen
as Maggie Williams
Wendell Corey
as Capt. H.T. Peeples
Carl Benton Reid
as Claude Williams
Paul Stewart
as "Dutch" Kruger
Otto Hulett
as Mobley
Rhys Williams
as Redwick Karson
Herbert Heyes
as Lionel Daniels
James Arness
as Leon Williams
Porter Hall
as Sam Markley
Fay Roope
as District Attorney
Ralph Dumke
as Andrew White
Leif Erickson
as Feder
Howard Petrie
as Sheriff
Stuart Randall
as Tom Venner
Dan Riss
as Jesse Rimmer
Bobby Hyatt
as David Williams
Marshall Bradford
Robert Foulk
as Torchy
Duke York
Willis B. Bouchey
as Mitchell
Bob Alden
as Messenger
Fiona O'Shiel
as Mrs. Rimmer
Harry V. Cheshire
as Judge
George Pembroke
as Board Member
Bert LeBaron
Tony Epper
Nolan Leary
Sam Flint
Lillian Culver
as Mrs. Laura Williams


Richard Thorpe
Armand Deutsch
Art Cohn
William C. Mellor
Conrad Salinger
Composer (Music Score)
Cedric Gibbons
Art Director
Eddie Imazu
Art Director