Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Car Wash Details


Michael Schultz directed this kinetic, hyperventilating comedy (scripted by Joel Schumacher) concerning the crazed events that go on within a single 10-hour period at a Los Angeles car wash. The cast of colorful car-wash employees includes Lonnie (Ivan Dixon), an ex-con; Duane (Bill Duke), a militant black activist; and Lindy (Antonio Fargas), an obnoxious homosexual. Sully Boyar plays Mr. B, the frazzled car-wash owner who has to deal with his screwball employees along with his over-educated slip of a son, Irwin (Richard Brestoff), who quotes Mao and wants to radicalize the workers. Also along for the wash and wax are Miss Beverly Hills (Lauren Jones), with a wild assortment of wigs; Marsha (Melanie Mayron), the distracted car wash secretary; a mad bomber (Prof. Irwin Corey), who is terrorizing the neighborhood; and Daddy Rich (Richard Pryor), the founder of the Church of Divine Economic Spirituality, who sports a gold limousine. Danny de Vito, Brooke Adams and others were originally in the cast but their scenes were ultimately deleted. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:October 22, 1976


Franklyn Ajaye
as T.C.
Sully Boyar
as Mr. b.
Richard Brestoff
as Irwin
George Carlin
as Taxi Driver
Irwin Corey
as Mad bomber
Ivan Dixon
as Lonnie
Bill Duke
as Duane
Antonio Fargas
as Lindy
Arthur French
as Charlie
Lorraine Gary
as Hysterical Lady/ Miss Beverly Hills
Darrow Igus
as Floyd
Leonard Jackson
as Earl
DeWayne Jessie
as Lloyd
Jack Kehoe
as Scruggs
Henry Kingi
as Goody
Melanie Mayron
as Marsha
Garrett Morris
as Slide
Clarence Muse
as Snapper
Leon Pinkney
as Justin
Richard Pryor
as Daddy Rich
Pepe Serna
as Chuco
James Spinks
as Hippo
Ray Vitte
as Geronimo
Ren Woods
as Loretta
Ben Frommer
John Linson
Carmine Caridi
as Foolish Father
Anita Pointer
Bonnie Pointer
Ruth Pointer
Antonie Becker
as Charlene
Erin Blunt
as Lonnie's Son
Derek Schultz
as Foolish Father's Son
Otis Sistrunk
as Otis
Tim Thomerson
as Ken
Jason Bernard
as Parole Officer
Danny DeVito
Sarina Grant
as Newscaster
Tim Thomerson
as Ken
Sarina Grant
as Newscaster
Derek Schultz
as Foolish Father's Son
Jason Bernard
as Parole Officer
Antonie Becker
as Charlene
Carmine Caridi
as Foolish Father
Otis Sistrunk
as Otis
Erin Blunt
as Lonnie's Son


Michael Schultz
Art Linson
Gary Stromberg
Joel Schumacher
Frank Stanley
Robert Clatworthy
Art Director
Don Phillips
Associate Producer
Daniel Paredes
Costume Designer
Willie D. Burton
Sound/Sound Designer
Phil Bowles
First Assistant Director
Don Phillips
Chuck Crafts