Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Captain January Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Previously filmed as a vehicle for [[Performer~P50183~Baby Peggy Montgomery~peggymontgomery]] in 1922, Laura E. Richard's Captain January was warmed up as a [[Performer~P70237~Shirley Temple~shirleytemple]] picture 14 years later. Temple plays Star, a child of divorce who is looked after by crusty-but-lovable lighthouse keeper Captain January ([[Performer~P38049~Guy Kibbee~guykibbee]]). Truant officer Agatha Morgan ([[Performer~P29510~Sara Haden~sarahaden]]) determines that the Captain is not providing Star with suitable surroundings or a proper education, and before long our sobbing heroine is whisked away to a boarding school. She is rescued by kindly Mr. and Mrs. Morgan ([[Performer~P34565~George Irving~georgeirving]] and [[Performer~P74284~Nella Walker~nellawalker]]), distant relatives who try to provide the girl with a decent home, but the poor child still yearns for the company of Captain January and his friends Paul ([[Performer~P88623~Buddy Ebsen~buddyebsen]]) and Nazro (Slim Summerville). All ends happily when January and his two chums are hired as crew members on the Morgans' yacht. One of [[Performer~P70237~Shirley Temple~shirleytemple]]'s best films, Captain January would be memorable if only for her singing-dancing duet with [[Performer~P88623~Buddy Ebsen~buddyebsen]], "At the Codfish Ball." Thanks to a legal loophole, the film has lapsed into public domain, joining [[Feature~V134672~A Little Princess~alittleprincess]] as the most accessible of [[Performer~P70237~Temple~shirleytemple]]'s vehicles. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:November 12, 1936

Cast

Shirley Temple
as Star
Guy Kibbee
as Captain January
George "Slim" Summerville
as Capt. Nazro
Buddy Ebsen
as Paul Roberts
Sara Haden
as Agatha Morgan
Jane Darwell
as Eliza Croft
Jerry Tucker
as Cyril Morgan
George Irving
as John Mason
Nella Walker
as Mrs. John Mason
James Farley
as Deputy Sheriff
Si Jenks
as Old Sailor
William Benedict
as Bit
June Lang
as Mary Marshali
John Carradine
as Local yokel
Gladden James
as Foreman

Crew

David Butler
Director
Darryl F. Zanuck
Producer
Sam Hellman
Screenwriter
Gladys Lehman
Screenwriter
Harry Tugend
Screenwriter
John F. Seitz
Cinematographer
Louis Silvers
Musical Direction/Supervision
Jack Yellen
Songwriter
Lew Pollack
Songwriter
Jack Donohue
Choreography
Advertisement