Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Captain Newman, M.D. Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P55747~Gregory Peck~gregorypeck]] plays a benevolent God-like figure in a white smock as Captain Josiah Newman, the head of a psych-unit at a Southwestern army base during the waning days of World War II. Newman is a patriarchal protector to his patients, preferring to keep him in his ward, rather than return them to certain death on the battlefield. The matriarchal figure of the ward is Lieutenant Grace Blodgett ([[Performer~P77080~Jane Withers~janewithers]]), but Newman is more interested in his assistant Lieutenant Francie Corum ([[Performer~P19096~Angie Dickinson~angiedickinson]]), with whom he is having an affair. Further help is provided by human nature expert, Corp. Jackson Laibowitz ([[Performer~P199612~Tony Curtis~tonycurtis]]), the orderly. And Newman needs all the help he can get. Particularly with three patients: Colonel Bliss ([[Performer~P669~Eddie Albert~eddiealbert]]) is suffering from a guilt complex from all the men he has sent to death; Corporal Tompkins ([[Performer~P17011~Bobby Darin~bobbydarin]], in an Academy Award-nominated performance), although decorated for bravery in combat, calls himself a coward for failing to save his pal from a burning plane; and Captain Winston ([[Performer~P88530~Robert Duvall~robertduvall]]) is guilt-ridden and has lapsed into catatonia because he had hidden for over a year in the basement of a building in Germany. Although Newman wants to cure these men of their psychological problems, he doesn't want to see them returned to the war to be killed. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:December 25, 1963

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Henry Ephron Best Adapted Screenplay 1963 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Phoebe Ephron Best Adapted Screenplay 1963 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Bobby Darin Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 1963 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Bobby Darin Best Supporting Actor 1963 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Gregory Peck Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Drama 1963 Nominee

Cast

Gregory Peck
as Capt. Josiah Newman
Tony Curtis
as Cpl. Jackson Laibowitz
Angie Dickinson
as Lt. Francie Corum
Eddie Albert
as Col. Norval Algate Bliss
James Gregory
as Col. Edgar Pyser
Bobby Darin
as Cpl. Jim Tompkins
Bethel Leslie
as Helene Winston
Robert Duvall
as Capt. Paul Cabot Winston
Jane Withers
as Lt. Grace Blodgett
Dick Sargent
as Lieutenant Alderson
Larry Storch
as Corporal Gavoni
Robert Simon
as Lt. Col. Larrabee
Syl Lamont
as Sgt. Kopp
Vito Scotti
as Maj. Alfredo Fortuno
Gregory Walcott
as Capt. Howard
Charlie Briggs
as Gorkow
Robert Strong
as Chaplain
Martin West
Jack Grinnage
as Patient
Amzie Strickland
as Kathie
John Hart
as Officer
David Landfield
as Corporal
Howard Dayton
Ann Doran
as Mrs. Pyser
Seamon Glass
Byron Morrow
as Hollingshead
David Winters
Marc Cavell
Penny Santon
as Waitress at Blue Grotto
Barry Atwater
as Maj. Dawes

Crew

David Miller
Director
Robert Arthur
Producer
Phoebe Ephron
Screenwriter
Henry Ephron
Screenwriter
Russell Metty
Cinematographer
Frank Skinner
Composer (Music Score)
Alma Macrorie
Editor
Alexander Golitzen
Art Director
Alfred Sweeney
Art Director
Howard Bristol
Set Designer
Rosemary Odell
Costume Designer
Walter Hammond
Special Effects
Bud Westmore
Makeup
Advertisement