Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Captain Eddie Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Famed WW1 aviator Eddie Rickenbacker once more entered the public's consciousness during WW2 when, while serving as an Air Force officer, he and several other pilots crashed into the Pacific. While the world anxiously awaited news of his fate, Rickenbacker and a handful of survivors floated for 19 days in a tiny rubber raft. Captain Eddie recreates this incident, using it as a framework for a series of flashbacks in which Rickenbacker ([[Performer~P44291~Fred MacMurray~fredmacmurray]]) reminisces on the high points of his life. He is seen experimenting with aviation in his backyard, working in an auto factory to finance his earliest flights, and wooing and winning the lovely Adelaide ([[Performer~P3924~Lynn Bari~lynnbari]]). When America enters WW1, Rickenbacker immediately signs up, eventually shooting down more enemy planes than any other American aviator. Back in "the present", Rickenbacker and his comrades (including [[Performer~P52886~Lloyd Nolan~lloydnolan]] and [[Performer~P85734~Richard Conte~richardconte]] as Lt. Whittaker and Private Bartek) struggle to stay alive while awaiting rescue. [[Performer~P32165~Darryl Hickman~darrylhickman]] plays Rickenbacker as a boy, while [[Performer~P6091~Charles Bickford~charlesbickford]] portrays his father William. The huge supporting cast includes amusing unbilled contributions by [[Performer~P69222~Grady Sutton~gradysutton]] ("The schottische is my fav-or-ite dance!") and [[Performer~P12233~George Chandler~georgechandler]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Roger Heman Best Special Effects 1945 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Fred Sersen Best Special Effects 1945 Nominee

Cast

Fred MacMurray
as Edward Rickenbacker
Lynn Bari
as Adelaide
Charles Bickford
as William Rickenbacker
Thomas Mitchell
as Ike Howard
Lloyd Nolan
as Lt. Whittaker
James Gleason
as Tom Clark
Darryl Hickman
as Eddie Rickenbacker, boy
Spring Byington
as Mrs. Frost
Richard Conte
as Pvt. Bartek
Richard Crane
as Capt. Cherry
Stanley Ridges
as Col. Adamson
Grady Sutton
as Lester Thomas
Dwayne Hickman
as Louis Rickenbacker
Elvin Field
as Bill Rickenbacker
George Mitchell
as Lt. de Angelis
Boyd Davis
as Mr. Frost
Mary Gordon
as Mrs. Westrom
Olin Howland
as Census Taker
Robert Malcolm
as Mr. Foley
Harry Shannon
as Simmons
Virginia Brissac
as Flo Clark
Peter Michael
as Charlie
Fred Essler
as Prof Montagne
Lotte Stein
as Mme. Montagne
George Chandler
as Heckler
Clem Bevans
as Jabez
Don Garner
as Sgt. Alex
Chick Chandler
as Lacey
Robert E. Homans

Crew

Lloyd Bacon
Director
Joe MacDonald
Cinematographer
Emil Newman
Musical Direction/Supervision
Cyril Mockridge
Composer (Music Score)
James B. Clark
Editor
Fred Sersen
Special Effects
Advertisement