Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Cape Fear Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P110533~Martin Scorsese~martinscorsese]]'s remake of Cape Fear provided the director with a box-office success to follow up the critical success of the previous year's [[Feature~V20351~Goodfellas~goodfellas]]. After serving a lengthy prison sentence for a sexual assault, Max Cady ([[Performer~P17593~Robert De Niro~robertdeniro]]) comes calling on the man who served as his public defender, Sam Bowden ([[Performer~P52916~Nick Nolte~nicknolte]]). Max begins a campaign of harassment against the man and his family because Bowden buried a report that would have in all likelihood acquitted Cady of the charges against him. Bowden's shaky ethics continue in his personal life as he is considering beginning an extramarital affair with colleague Lori Davis ([[Performer~P19863~Illeana Douglas~illeanadouglas]]), since he and his wife, Leigh ([[Performer~P40447~Jessica Lange~jessicalange]]) have had a difficult time coming back together since he has admitted to previous indiscretions. Cady infiltrates the family most insidiously by cultivating a relationship with the Bowden's troubled teenage daughte, Danielle ([[Performer~P42230~Juliette Lewis~juliettelewis]]), who is all the more susceptible to Cady's advances because of her parents' problems. [[Performer~P49738~Robert Mitchum~robertmitchum]] and [[Performer~P55747~Gregory Peck~gregorypeck]], the stars of the original film, have cameo appearances in this version of Cape Fear. [[Performer~P17593~De Niro~robertdeniro]] and [[Performer~P42230~Lewis~juliettelewis]] were both nominated for Academy Awards for their work in the film. ~ Perry Seibert, Rovi

  • Release date:November 13, 1991

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Freddie Francis Best Cinematography 1992 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Juliette Lewis Best Supporting Actress 1991 Nominee
Berlin International Film Festival Martin Scorsese In Competition 1992 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Robert De Niro Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1991 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Robert De Niro Best Actor 1991 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Thelma Schoonmaker Editing Award 1992 Nominee

Cast

Robert De Niro
as Max Cady
Nick Nolte
as Sam Bowden
Jessica Lange
as Leigh Bowden
Juliette Lewis
as Danielle Bowden
Joe Don Baker
as Claude Kersek
Robert Mitchum
as Lieutenant Elgart
Illeana Douglas
as Lori Davis
Gregory Peck
as Lee Heller
Martin Balsam
as Judge
Fred Dalton Thompson
as Tom Broadbent
Zully Montero
as Graciella
Billy Lucas
as 2nd Big Man
Jackie Davis
as Jimmy the Dockmaster
Joel Kolker
as Corrections Officer
Kate Colburn
as Waitress
Linda Perri
as Ticket Agent
Margot Moreland
as Secretary
Antoni Corone
as Corrections Officer
Parris Buckner
as Racquetball Colleague
Paul Froehler
as Parade Watcher
Rod Ball
as Prisoner
Roger Pretto
as Racquetball Colleague
Will Knickerbocker
as Detective
Chad Dowdell
as Jim (uncredited)
W. Paul Bodie
as Prisoner
Ken Collins
as 3rd Big Man
Jodie Wilson
as Parade Watcher
Edgar Allan Poe IV
as Prisoner
Domenica Scorsese
as Danny's Girlfriend
Tamara Jones
as Ice Cream Cashier
Paul Nagle, Jr.
as Parade Watcher
Catherine Scorsese
as Fruit Stand Customer
Charles Scorsese
as Fruit Stand Customer
Craig Henne
as Prisoner
Elizabeth Moyer
as Ticket Agent
Ellen Lewis
Forest Burton
as Prisoner
Garr Stevens
as 1st Big Man

Crew

Martin Scorsese
Director
Barbara de Fina
Producer
Steven Spielberg
Producer
Wesley Strick
Screenwriter
Freddie Francis
Cinematographer
Bernard Herrmann
Featured Music
Elmer Bernstein
Musical Direction/Supervision
Thelma Schoonmaker
Editor
Henry Bumstead
Production Designer
Frank Marshall
Executive Producer
Kathleen Kennedy
Executive Producer
Alan Hicks
Set Designer
Rita Ryack
Costume Designer
Joseph P. Reidy
First Assistant Director
Leon Delaney
Stunts
Deborah Lee
Unit Production Manager
Advertisement