Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Calendar Girls Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P277151~Nigel Cole~nigelcole]] directs the feel-good comedy Calendar Girls, based on the true story of a group of working-class British housewives who became overnight celebrities by posing for a nude calendar in order to raise more than 500-thousand pounds for a new leukemia unit. The film follows the adventures of best friends Chris Harper ([[Performer~P49576~Helen Mirren~helenmirren]]) and Annie Clarke ([[Performer~P74515~Julie Walters~juliewalters]]), both members of the charitable Rylstone Women's Institute in North Yorkshire. After Annie's husband John ([[Performer~P124439~John Alderton~johnalderton]]) succumbs to leukemia, the friends are motivated to take some action. They convince the group to craft a tastefully nude calendar featuring the usual ladies' activities of gardening and baking, as photographed by the young amateur Lawrence ([[Performer~P27231~Philip Glenister~philipglenister]]). Despite the disapproval of the Institute's leader Marie ([[Performer~P35078~Geraldine James~geraldinejames]]), the calendar quickly becomes a best-seller and leads the group to Hollywood. [[Performer~P32429~Ciaran Hinds~ciaránhinds]] appears as Chris' husband Rod Harper. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

  • Release date:December 19, 2003

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Helen Mirren Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 2003 Nominee

Crew

Nigel Cole
Director
Suzanne Mackie
Producer
Nick Barton
Producer
Tim Firth
Screenwriter
Juliette Towhidi
Screenwriter
Ashley Rowe
Cinematographer
Liz Gallagher
Musical Direction/Supervision
Patrick Doyle
Composer (Music Score)
Michael Parker
Editor
Martin Childs
Production Designer
Mark Raggett
Art Director
Steve Clark-Hall
Co-producer
Frances Tempest
Costume Designer
Steve Single
Sound/Sound Designer
Tim Fraser
Sound/Sound Designer
Tim Cavagin
Sound/Sound Designer
Deborah Saban
First Assistant Director
Gail Stevens
Casting
Jackie Burch
Casting
Advertisement