Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Cadillac Records Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Directed by TV veteran [[Performer~P45941~Darnell Martin~darnellmartin]], the musical drama Cadillac Records documents the compelling true-life story of the Chicago record label that helped the world discover such legendary artists as [[Performer~P74936~Muddy Waters~muddywaters]], [[Performer~P289716~Howlin' Wolf~howlinwolf]], Little Walter, and [[Performer~P81665~Chuck Berry~chuckberry]]. Founded in 1950 by Leonard Chess ([[Performer~P8639~Adrien Brody~adrienbrody]]), Chess Records quickly gained a reputation as home to some of the most talented and influential blues artists ever to step into a recording studio. But giving these musicians an opportunity to bring their music to the world was no easy task, because along the way there was enough sex, drugs, and rock & roll to ensure that things around Chess Records never got boring. Featuring [[Performer~P77607~Jeffrey Wright~jeffreywright]] as [[Performer~P74936~Muddy Waters~muddywaters]], [[Performer~P267979~Gabrielle Union~gabrielleunion]] as Geneva Wade, [[Performer~P327089~Beyoncé Knowles~beyoncéknowles]] as [[Performer~P35071~Etta James~ettajames]], [[Performer~P264009~Mos Def~mosdef]] as [[Performer~P81665~Chuck Berry~chuckberry]], [[Performer~P237294~Cedric the Entertainer~cedrictheentertainer]] as [[Performer~P87898~Willie Dixon~williedixon]], and [[Performer~P74236~Eamonn Walker~eamonnwalker]] as [[Performer~P289716~Howlin' Wolf~howlinwolf]]. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:December 5, 2008

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Ian Dench Best Original Song 2008 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Beyoncé Knowles Best Original Song 2008 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Amanda Ghost Best Original Song 2008 Nominee

Crew

Darnell Martin
Director
Andrew Lack
Producer
Sofia Sondervan
Producer
Darnell Martin
Screenwriter
Anastas Michos
Cinematographer
Raphael Saadiq
Featured Music
Q-Tip
Featured Music
Olu Dara
Featured Music
Buddy Guy
Featured Music
Terence Blanchard
Composer (Music Score)
Beth Amy Rosenblatt
Musical Direction/Supervision
Peter C. Frank
Editor
Linda Burton
Production Designer
Nicolas Locke
Art Director
Petra Hoebel
Co-producer
Beyoncé Knowles
Executive Producer
Johnetta Boone
Costume Designer
Kimberly Hardin
Casting
Marshall Chess
Executive Music Producer
Steve Jordan
Music Producer
Advertisement