Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Bye Bye Birdie Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P206574~George Sidney~georgesidney]]'s adaptation of the satiric Broadway musical smash by [[Performer~P112798~Michael Stewart~michaelstewart]], [[Performer~P113082~Charles Strouse~charlesstrouse]], and [[Performer~P157936~Lee Adams~leeadams]] -- about an [[Performer~P107032~Elvis Presley~elvispresley]]-inspired rock star, who is drafted into the army and who creates a near-riot in a small Midwestern town when he stops there for one last publicity junket -- takes good-natured swipes at popular culture, rock n' roll, and American family life. [[Performer~P72745~Dick van Dyke~dickvandyke]] re-creates his Broadway role of Albert Peterson, a down-on-his-luck songwriter for the rock-n'-roll idol Conrad Birdie ([[Performer~P55705~Jesse Pearson~jessepearson]]). When Birdie is drafted into the army, Peterson is worried about his future as a songwriter. His secretary, Rosie ([[Performer~P41670~Janet Leigh~janetleigh]] in a brunette wig), with whom Albert has long been romantically attached, convinces Albert to write a farewell song for Birdie that he will sing on [[Feature~V216975~The Ed Sullivan Show~theedsullivanshow[tvseries]]] to a specially selected fan. The lucky fan turns out to be Kim McAfee ([[Performer~P1846~Ann-Margaret~annmargret]]) of Sweet Apple, Ohio. When Birdie arrives in this hick town, the population goes crazy and in the ensuing madness, Albert must deal with the celebrity-fawning population, Kim's manic father ([[Performer~P100465~Paul Lynde~paullynde]], also re-creating his Broadway role), and his own domineering mother ([[Performer~P67653~Maureen Stapleton~maureenstapleton]]), while he loses Rosie to the Shriners. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:April 4, 1963

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Johnny Green Best Adapted Score 1963 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Ann-Margret Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1963 Nominee

Cast

Janet Leigh
as Rosie DeLeon
Dick Van Dyke
as Albert Peterson
Ann-Margret
as Kim McAfee
Maureen Stapleton
as Mama Peterson
Bobby Rydell
as Hugo Peabody
Jesse Pearson
as Conrad Birdie
Ed Sullivan
as Himself
Paul Lynde
as Harry McAfee
Mary Laroche
as Mrs. McAfee
Robert Paige
as Bob Precht
Gregory Morton
as Borov
Bryan Russell
as Randolph
Milton Frome
as Mr. Maude
Trudi Ames
as Ursula
Cyril Delevanti
as Mr. Nebbitt
Frank Albertson
as Mayor
Frank Sully
as Bartender
Kim Darby

Crew

George Sidney
Director
Fred Kohlmar
Producer
Irving Brecher
Screenwriter
Joseph Biroc
Cinematographer
Johnny Green
Composer (Music Score)
Pat Barto
Costume Designer
Onna White
Choreography
Advertisement