Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Butcher's Wife Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

As a clairvoyant, [[Performer~P103370~Demi Moore~demimoore]] awaits signs from beyond that her true love, whomever he may be, is waiting for her, somewhere. When New York butcher [[Performer~P20927~George Dzundza~georgedzundza]] shows up on the tiny North Carolina island where [[Performer~P103370~Demi~demimoore]] lives, she is convinced that he is the man predestined to be her husband. After the wedding, [[Performer~P103370~Demi~demimoore]] moves into [[Performer~P20927~George~georgedzundza]]'s blue-collar neighborhood, where she successfully commisserates with such eccentrics as withdrawn teenager [[Performer~P56088~Max Perlich~maxperlich]], frustrated singer [[Performer~P67856~Mary Steenburgen~marysteenburgen]], unlucky-in-love actress [[Performer~P14145~Margaret Colin~margaretcolin]], over-analytical psychiatrist [[Performer~P16881~Jeff Daniels~jeffdaniels]], and lesbian [[Performer~P47305~Frances McDormand~francesmcdormand]]. As [[Performer~P103370~Demi~demimoore]] helpfully tries to chart the destinies of her new friends, she fails to notice that [[Performer~P20927~Dzundza~georgedzundza]] is falling in love with [[Performer~P67856~Steenburgen~marysteenburgen]]. Though there are many traumatic detours along the way, [[Performer~P103370~Demi~demimoore]]'s psychic talents have very positive effects on at least one of the characters. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:October 25, 1991

Cast

Demi Moore
as Marina
Jeff Daniels
as Alex
George Dzundza
as Leo
Mary Steenburgen
as Stella
Frances McDormand
as Grace
Margaret Colin
as Robyn
Max Perlich
as Eugene
Miriam Margolyes
as Gina
Christopher Durang
as Mr. Liddle
Helen Hanft
as Molly
Ken Fritz
as Street Sweeper
Luis Avalos
as Luis
Barry Neikrug
as Bicyclist
Sam Menning
as Doorman
Stephanie Lawrence
as Choir Student
Steve Love
as Skater in the Park
Elizabeth Lawrence
as Grammy D'Arbo
Gail Levin
Chuck Pierce
as Beau
Thomas Mikal Ford
as Transvestite
Cameron Milzer
as Customer
Diane Salinger
as Trendoid
Ed Kenney
as Uncle Chauncy
Frank Tidy

Crew

Terry Hughes
Director
Wallis Nicita
Producer
Lauren Lloyd
Producer
Marjorie Schwartz
Screenwriter
Ezra Litwak
Screenwriter
Frank Tidy
Cinematographer
Cecelia Hall
Musical Direction/Supervision
Michael Gore
Composer (Music Score)
Donn Cambern
Editor
Charles Rosen
Production Designer
Stephen J. Lim
Production Designer
Diane Yates
Art Director
Arne Schmidt
Executive Producer
Martha Johnston
Set Designer
Dianne I. Wager
Set Designer
James Bayliss
Set Designer
Steve Maslow
Sound/Sound Designer
Gail Levin
Casting
Advertisement