Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Burn Hollywood Burn Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

First, a little background: in 1955, the Director's Guild of America created the pseudonym [[Performer~P111972~Alan Smithee~alansmithee]], which film directors are allowed to use if they feel their work has been tampered with to such a degree that they no longer want the credit. (For example, if you look at the credits of the expanded and heavily narrated TV version of [[Feature~V14962~Dune~dune]], you'll notice the director is not listed as [[Performer~P100454~David Lynch~davidlynch]], but as [[Performer~P111972~Alan Smithee~alansmithee]].) An Alan Smithee Film: Burn Hollywood Burn is a comedy about a film editor (played by [[Performer~P95365~Eric Idle~ericidle]]) who finally gets his big break -- he's given the opportunity to direct a big-budget action film starring [[Performer~P112464~Sylvester Stallone~sylvesterstallone]], [[Performer~P27431~Whoopi Goldberg~whoopigoldberg]], and [[Performer~P84650~Jackie Chan~jackiechan]]. But filming does not go well (the budget eventually balloons to 200 million dollars) and the producer, James Edmunds ([[Performer~P53567~Ryan O'Neal~ryanoneal]]), tampers with the final cut of the film. As a result, the hapless neophyte director doesn't want his name to appear on the credits. But his real name is Alan Smithee, so what's he supposed to do? In a stunning example of art imitating life, director [[Performer~P94401~Arthur Hiller~arthurhiller]] was supposedly unhappy with the interference of screenwriter and producer [[Performer~P89168~Joe Eszterhas~joeeszterhas]] on this project and chose to remove his name from the credits -- so An Alan Smithee Film carries the directorial credit of none other than [[Performer~P111972~Alan Smithee~alansmithee]]. Rappers [[Performer~P140663~Coolio~coolio]] and [[Performer~P392505~Chuck D~chuckd]] appear as the filmmaking Brothers Brothers; [[Performer~P392505~Chuck D~chuckd]] also contributed to the film's score. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Crew

Alan Smithee
Director
Ben Myron
Producer
Joe Eszterhas
Screenwriter
Reynaldo Villalobos
Cinematographer
Gary G-Wiz
Composer (Music Score)
Jim Langlois
Editor
Michael Sloan
Associate Producer
Andrew G. Vajna
Executive Producer
John Perry Goldsmith
Set Designer
John Warnke
Set Designer
Laura Cunningham-Bauer
Costume Designer
Felipe Borrero
Sound/Sound Designer
Newt Arnold
First Assistant Director
Nancy Foy
Casting
Advertisement