Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Bulldog Drummond Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Tired of his sedentary postwar existence, Col. Hugh "Bulldog" Drummond ([[Performer~P14296~Ronald Colman~ronaldcolman]]) offers his services as adventurer for hire. This gets him mixed up with lovely [[Performer~P5398~Joan Bennett~joanbennett]], whose wealthy father is being held against his will in a gloomy sanitarium. Armed with little more than bravado, Drummond, his pal Algy ([[Performer~P1117~Claud Allister~claudallister]]) and faithful butler Danny ([[Performer~P5332~Wilson Benge~wilsonbenge]]) walk right into the villain's lair--said villain being the evil Dr. Lakington. Drummond is overpowered by Lakington's henchpersons, played by [[Performer~P69903~Lilyan Tashman~lilyantashman]] and [[Performer~P43432~Montague Love~montagulove]]. Our Hero is willing to accept the inevitability of his own death, but when the unspeakable Lakington fondles the unconscious Ms. Bennett, that's too much! Drummond escapes, and in a jaw-dropping sequence kills Lakington in cold blood. He then becomes his old charming self and allows secondary villains [[Performer~P43432~Love~montagulove]] and [[Performer~P69903~Tashman~lilyantashman]] to escape, since he's not really mad at them. Drummond saves the millionaire and wins the girl, though later "Bulldog Drummond" films bear out the fact that he doesn't marry her immediately as he should (virtually every subsequent "Drummond" flick would open with an interrupted wedding). Filmed in the earliest days of the talkie era, Bulldog Drummond is a remarkably sophisticated film for its time, directed with assurance by former Mack Sennett associate [[Performer~P96315~F. Richard Jones~frichardjones]] (who unfortunately died shortly after the film's release). Its only concessions to the "all talking/all singing" mania of 1929 are the unnecessary Irish songs performed by tenor [[Performer~P53146~Donald Novis~donaldnovis]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:May 2, 1929

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Ronald Colman Best Actor 1929 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences William Cameron Menzies Best Art Direction 1929 Nominee

Cast

Ronald Colman
as Hugh "Bulldog" Drummond
Claud Allister
as Algy Longworth
Joan Bennett
as Phyllis Benton
Lilyan Tashman
as Errna Peterson
Lawrence Grant
as Doctor Lakington
Montagu Love
as Carl Peterson
Adolph Milar
as Marcovitch
Charles Sellon
as John Travers
Wilson Benge
as Tenny
Tom Ricketts
as Colonel
Jack Buchanan
Heather Angel
Gertrude Short
as Barmaid
Lucille Ball
Tetsu Komai
as Chong

Crew

F. Richard Jones
Director
Sidney Howard
Director
F. Richard Jones
Producer
Samuel Goldwyn
Producer
Sidney Howard
Screenwriter
Gregg Toland
Cinematographer
George Barnes
Cinematographer
Jack Yellen
Songwriter
Albert Akst
Songwriter
Frank Lawrence
Editor
Viola Lawrence
Editor
William Cameron Menzies
Art Director
Advertisement