Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Buffalo '66 Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Actor [[Performer~P90927~Vincent Gallo~vincentgallo]] ([[Feature~V136162~The Funeral~thefuneral]], [[Feature~V135782~Palookaville~palookaville]]) made his feature directorial debut with this drama about convict Billy Brown ([[Performer~P90927~Gallo~vincentgallo]]), released after half a decade spent behind bars. Drifting into downtown Buffalo, Billy kidnaps teen Layla ([[Performer~P59916~Christina Ricci~christinaricci]]) and has her pose as his loving wife when he visits his parents ([[Performer~P26259~Ben Gazzara~bengazzara]] and [[Performer~P34131~Anjelica Huston~anjelicahuston]]). Layla praises him and goes along with his fanciful tale that they met at CIA headquarters, where they both worked. Mom and dad not only fall for this, they are entranced by Layla, who soon begins to embellish her act. When she claims to be pregnant by Billy, he hustles her out to a bowling alley and on to a restaurant, where they run into trampy Wendy ([[Performer~P2417~Rosanna Arquette~rosannaarquette]]), who might be Billy's former girlfriend. Eventually, Billy seems ready to track down and kill the person he feels was responsible for his five years in the slammer. Shown at the 1998 Sundance Film Festival. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:January 21, 1998

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Vincent Gallo Best First Feature 1998 Nominee
National Board of Review Christina Ricci Best Supporting Actress 1998 Winner

Crew

Vincent Gallo
Director
Chris Hanley
Producer
Alison Bagnall
Screenwriter
Vincent Gallo
Screenwriter
Vincent Gallo
Screen Story
Curtiss Clayton
Cinematographer
Lance Acord
Cinematographer
Vincent Gallo
Composer (Music Score)
Curtiss Clayton
Editor
Gideon Ponte
Production Designer
Jordan Gertner
Co-producer
Gerry Gershman
Co-producer
Deborah Brock
Co-producer
Andre Link
Executive Producer
John Dunning
Executive Producer
Michael Paseornek
Executive Producer
Brian Miksis
Sound/Sound Designer
Michelangelo Bolla
First Assistant Director
Advertisement