Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Buck Privates Come Home Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

After serving with a notable lack of distinction in WW2, Corporal Slicker Smith ([[Performer~P69~Bud Abbott~budabbott]]) and Private Herbie Brown ([[Performer~P15240~Lou Costello~loucostello]]) return to the US. Unbeknownst to their sourpussed sergeant Collins ([[Performer~P55898~Nat Pendleton~natpendleton]]), Slicker and Herbie have smuggled cute little war orphan Evie ([[Performer~P65737~Beverly Simmons~beverlysimmons]]) past the immigration authorities. In their efforts to find a decent home for Evie, our heroes return to the prewar "jobs" as sidewalk salesmen, then make a disastrous attempt to collect their GI bonus money. They also struggle to save Evie from deportation, hiding her from the prying eyes of the ubiquitous Collins, who has likewise returned to his civilian job as a police officer. The climax finds Herbie participating in a big-money midget-car race, feverishly dodging pedestrians and motorists as he tries to escape the authorities. The film also includes a romantic subplot involving [[Performer~P83271~Tom Brown~tombrown]] and [[Performer~P25329~Joan Fulton~joanfulton]] (later known as [[Performer~P64965~Joan Shawlee~joanshawlee]]). ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Bud Abbott
as Cpl. Slicker Smith
Lou Costello
as Herbie Brown
Nat Pendleton
as Sgt. Collins
Don Beddoe
as Mr. Roberts
Tom Brown
as Bill Gregory
Lennie Bremen
as Hank
William Ching
as Second Lieutenant
Jimmie Dodd
as Whitey
William Haade
as Husband
Chuck Hamilton
as New York Cop
Donald MacBride
as Police Captain
Al Murphy
as Murphy
Don Porter
as Capt. Christie
Buddy Roosevelt
as New York Cop
Bob Wilke
as Stan
Milburn Stone
as Auto Race Announcer
Joe Kirk
as Real Estate Salesman
Knox Manning
as Commentator
Eddie Acuff
Charles Trowbridge
as Mr. Quince
Cliff Clark
Russell Hicks
as Mr. Appleby

Crew

Charles Barton
Director
Robert Arthur
Producer
John Grant
Screenwriter
Robert Lees
Screenwriter
Charles Van Enger
Cinematographer
Walter Schumann
Composer (Music Score)
Bernard Herzbrun
Art Director
Bradford Ropes
Short Story Author
Richard Macaulay
Short Story Author
Advertisement