Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Brothers of the Head Details


Brothers of the Head was adapted from Brian Aldiss' novel by screenwriter Tony Grisoni, and marks the narrative feature debut of Keith Fulton and Louis Pepe (Louis Pepe), who have structured Aldiss' story as a mock documentary. Twins Luke and Harry Treadaway star, respectively, as conjoined twins Barry and Tom Howe, joined at the torso. They were essentially purchased from their family as teens in the 1970s by a sleazy showbiz impresario, Zak Bedderwick (Howard Attfield), who planned to turn them into rock stars. Manager Nick (Sean Harris) kept the volatile Barry in line, sometimes violently, while musician Paul (Bryan Dick) taught the introspective Tom how to play the guitar, and helped the brothers write their songs. A documentary filmmaker, Eddie (Tom Bower), was hired to record the process. Their first live performance was a near disaster, as the rowdy pub crowd didn't welcome the sight of the two young men coming on-stage with their arms around each other, but Barry, the charismatically angry frontman, shocked the crowd by exposing the joint between them as he ripped into a snarling performance of their first single, "Two-Way Romeo," and the legend of their group, the Bang Bang, was born. As the proto-punk group's fame grew, Laura (Tania Emery), a young journalist, came to write an article about them, and quickly developed a romantic relationship with Tom, causing friction between the brothers. The film features interviews with some of the characters in the present day, and clips from an imagined unfinished Ken Russell film about the twins, starring Jonathan Pryce and Jane Horrocks. The music of the Bang Bang, performed by cast members and the band Crackout, was written and produced by Clive Langer. Brothers of the Head was shown at the 2006 Tribeca Film Festival. ~ Josh Ralske, Rovi

  • Release date:September 10, 2005


Awarded by
British Independent Film Awards Harry Treadaway Most Promising Newcomer (Onscreen) 2006 Nominee
British Independent Film Awards Luke Treadaway Most Promising Newcomer (Onscreen) 2006 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Anthony Dod Mantle Best Cinematography 2006 Nominee


Harry Treadaway
as Tom Howe
Luke Treadaway
as Barry Howe
Bryan Dick
as Paul Day (1970s)
Sean Harris
as Nick
Tania Emery
as Laura Ashworth (1970s)
Diana Kent
as Ashworth, Laura (Present)
Tom Bower
as Eddie Pasqua
David Kennedy
as Paul Day (Present Day)
Elizabeth Rider
as Roberta Howe
Jane Horrocks
as Roberta Howe (Two-Way Romeo)
Jonathan Pryce
as Henry Couling (Two-Way Romeo)
John Simm
as Boatman (Two-Way Romeo)
James Greene
Ken Russell
as Ken Russell, The Film Director
Brian Aldiss
as James Greene. The Author
Luke Wagner
as Young Zak
Howard Attfield
as Zak Bedderwick
Nicholas Millard
as Tubs
Ken Bones
as Henry Couling
Roger Watkins
as Old Howe (Two-Way Romeo)
Steven Eagles
as Spitz
Raymond Pickard
as Druggy
Joe Van Moyland
as Druggy Friend
Ray Cooper
as Ray Cooper
Kenneth Hadley
as Pub Manager
Isabel Skinner
as Concert Vox Pops
Michelle Bayton
as Concert Vox Pops
Gillian Farr
as Concert Vox Pops
Roger Spottiswoode
as Concert Vox Pops
Kieran Rushby
as Concert Vox Pops
Kristel George
as Concert Vox Pops
Anne Lambton
as Cilla
Jack Dunkley
as Roadie
Jeffry Wickham
as Sir Allardyce Stevens
Tom Sturridge
as Barry Howe (Two-Way Rodeo)
Barbara Ewing
as Dr. Janice Marsden


Keith Fulton
Louis Pepe
Gail Egan
Simon Channing-Williams
Brian Aldiss
Book Author
Tony Grisoni
Anthony Dod Mantle
Clive Langer
Composer (Music Score)
Patrick Rolfe
Art Director
Tony Grisoni
Lisa Marie Russo
Lisa Marie Russo
Executive Producer
Tessa Ross
Executive Producer
Tony Grisoni
Executive Producer
Kate Ogborn
Executive Producer
Peter Carlton
Executive Producer
Michelle Day
Set Decorator
Marianne Agertoft
Costume Designer
Curtis Radcliffe
Camera Operator
Anthony Dod Mantle
Camera Operator
Hemal Shah
Production Manager
Nina Gold
Andy Stebbing
Production Manager
Maralyn Sherman
Prosthetic Makeup Effects
Clive Curtis
Stunts Coordinator
Christine Gayford
Production Accountant
Imogen Bell
Production Coordinator
Alistair Hopkins
Post Production Supervisor
Thomas Neivelt
Nick Thomas
Properties Master
Sylvia Parker
Script Supervisor
Anthony Wilcox
Second Assistant Director
Paul Herbert
Stunts Coordinator
Henry Woolley
Location Manager
Sarah Monzani
Sarah Monzani
Hair Styles
Clive Langer
Music Producer