Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Broken Arrow Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Indian scout Tom Jeffords ([[Performer~P229307~James Stewart~jamesstewart]]) is sent out to stem the war between the Whites and Apaches in the late 1870s. He learns (through an uncomfortably close encounter) that the Indians kill only to protect themselves, or out of retaliation for white atrocities. Befriending the sagacious Apache leader Cochise ([[Performer~P12238~Jeff Chandler~jeffchandler]]), Jeffords ensures safe passage for white mail-carriers through Indian territory. As he becomes closer to his Native American "brothers", Jeffords falls in love with and weds a pretty Apache girl ([[Performer~P54690~Debra Paget~debrapaget]]). This being a 1950 film (miscegenation was frowned upon by the Production Code), you can guess what happens to her. Jeffords wants to avenge his bride's death at the hands of white renegades, but it is the so-called "savage" Cochise who advises him not to. Having learned much from each other, Jeffords and Cochise symbolize the white/Indian detente with the traditional broken arrow. This superb, non-condescending film has been criticized in some circles because of the alleged depiction of Cochise as an Indian "Uncle Tom", and because actor [[Performer~P12238~Jeff Chandler~jeffchandler]] was not a genuine Native American. Nonetheless, [[Feature~V135869~Broken Arrow~brokenarrow]] stands the test of time far more successfully than the later, politically correct Dances with Wolves. In 1956, [[Feature~V135869~Broken Arrow~brokenarrow]] was adapted into a TV series starring [[Performer~P43845~John Lupton~johnlupton]] as Jeffords and [[Performer~P1875~Michael Ansara~michaelansara]] as Cochise. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Michael Blankfort Best Screenplay 1950 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Jeff Chandler Best Supporting Actor 1950 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Ernest Palmer Best Cinematography - Color 1950 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Ernest Palmer Best Color Cinematography 1950 Nominee

Cast

James Stewart
as Tom Jeffords
Jeff Chandler
as Cochise
Debra Paget
as Sonseeahray
Basil Ruysdael
as Gen. Howard
Joyce MacKenzie
as Terry
Arthur Hunnicutt
as Duffield
Raymond Bramley
as Col. Bernall
Jay Silverheels
as Goklia
Argentina Brunetti
as Nalikadeya
Robert Adler
as Lonergan
Harry Carter
as Miner
Billy Wilkerson
as Juan
Mickey Kuhn
as Chip Slade
John War Eagle
as Nahilzay
Charles Soldani
as Skinyea
Iron Eyes Cody
as Teese
Edwin Rand
as Sergeant
John Doucette
as Mule Driver
Nacho Galindo
as Barber
Trevor Bardette
as Stage Passenger

Crew

Delmer Daves
Director
Julian Blaustein
Producer
Elliott Arnold
Book Author
Michael Blankfort
Screenwriter
Ernest Palmer
Cinematographer
Alfred Newman
Composer (Music Score)
Hugo W. Friedhofer
Composer (Music Score)
Lyle Wheeler
Art Director
Rene Hubert
Costume Designer
Bernard Freericks
Sound/Sound Designer
Fred Sersen
Special Effects
Advertisement