Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Bright Young Things Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

British writer/actor [[Performer~P25206~Stephen Fry~stephenfry]] makes his feature-film debut with the witty, sophisticated comedy Bright Young Things, adapted from [[Performer~P311680~Evelyn Waugh~evelynwaugh]]'s 1930 novel Vile Bodies. Set in London during the '30s, this stylish period film follows an ensemble cast of well-dressed and highly literate partygoers. Aspiring writer Adam Fenwick-Symes (stage actor [[Performer~P373744~Stephen Campbell Moore~stephencampbellmoore]]) loses the manuscript of his first novel when traveling through customs. He then sets out to raise enough money to marry his sweetheart, Nina Blount ([[Performer~P215854~Emily Mortimer~emilymortimer]]), the daughter of a colonel ([[Performer~P53681~Peter O'Toole~peterotoole]]). All in the name of love, Adam seeks funding through a constant stream of parties, meetings, and conversations with eccentric acquaintances. Cameo appearances are made by the likes of [[Performer~P80282~Dan Aykroyd~danaykroyd]], [[Performer~P83894~Simon Callow~simoncallow]], and [[Performer~P12304~Stockard Channing~stockardchanning]]. Bright Young Things was shown at the 2003 Toronto Film Festival. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

  • Release date:May 16, 2003

Cast

Emily Mortimer
as Nina Blount
Stephen Campbell Moore
as Adam
James McAvoy
as Simon Balcairn
Michael Sheen
as Miles
David Tennant
as Ginger Littlejohn
Fenella Woolgar
as Agatha Runcible
Jim Carter
as Chief Customs Officer
Julia McKenzie
as Lottie Crump
Peter O'Toole
as Colonel Blount

Crew

Stephen Fry
Director
Miranda Davis
Producer
Gina Carter
Producer
Stephen Fry
Screenwriter
Henry Braham
Cinematographer
Anne Dudley
Composer (Music Score)
Alex Mackie
Editor
Michael Howells
Production Designer
Lynne Huitson
Art Director
Caroline Hewitt
Co-producer
Chris Auty
Executive Producer
Michael Winterbottom
Executive Producer
Andrew Eaton
Executive Producer
Steve Robbins
Executive Producer
Stephen Fry
Executive Producer
Jim Reeve
Executive Producer
Neil Peplow
Executive Producer
Judy Farr
Set Designer
Nic Ede
Costume Designer
Tim Alban
Sound/Sound Designer
Jim Greenhorn
Sound/Sound Designer
Claire Eastman
Choreography
Wendy Brazington
Casting
Advertisement