Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Bright Victory Details


Arthur Kennedy stars as a blinded war veteran struggling to adjust to his affliction in peacetime. He must overcome his pugnacious attitude towards any problem he can't think his way out of--and he must learn to temper his inbred racial prejudices. Peggy Dow plays the woman who loves Kennedy enough to be cruel to him during his bouts of self-pity. Refusing to lapse into sentimentality, Bright Victory, based on the novel by Bayard Kendrick, is one of the best of the "against all odds" films of the 1950s. Arthur Kennedy's performance won him the New York Critics' Circle award, but not the Oscar he so richly deserved. Trivia note: new Universal contractee Rock Hudson receives 18th billing for his bit role as a soldier in this film. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:July 31, 1951


Awarded by
New York Film Critics Circle Arthur Kennedy Best Actor 1951 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Arthur Kennedy Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Drama 1951 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Arthur Kennedy Best Actor 1951 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Robert Buckner Best Screenplay 1951 Winner


Arthur Kennedy
as Larry Nevins
Peggy Dow
as Judy Greene
Julie Adams
as Chris Paterson
James Edwards
as Joe Morgan
Nana Bryant
as Mrs. Nevins
Richard Egan
as Sgt. John Masterson
Jim Backus
as Bill Grayson
Minor Watson
as Mr. Paterson
Joan Banks
as Janet Grayson
Marjorie Crossland
as Mrs. Paterson
Murray Hamilton
as Pete Hamilton
Larry Keating
as Jess Coe
Hugh Reilly
as Capt. Phelan
Rock Hudson
as Dudek
Ken Harvey
as Scanlon
Robert Simon
as Psychiatrist
Virginia Mullen
as Mrs. Coe
Richard Karlan
as Bartender
Marilyn Cooper
as Nurse Bailey
June Whitley
as Nurse at Oran
Sara Taft
as Woman
Billy Newell
as Bartender
Bernie Hamilton
as Black Soldier
Jerry Paris
as Reynolds
Sydney Mason
as Dr. Bannerman


Mark Robson
Robert Buckner
Robert Buckner
Baynard Kendrick
Book Author
William H. Daniels
Frank Skinner
Composer (Music Score)
Russell Schoengarth
Nathan Juran
Art Director
Bernard Herzbrun
Art Director