Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Brewster McCloud Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A boy yearns to fly in [[Performer~P79456~Robert Altman~robertaltman]]'s whimsical youthquake parable. With the aid of seraphic Louise ([[Performer~P37443~Sally Kellerman~sallykellerman]]), owlish Brewster ([[Performer~P85967~Bud Cort~budcort]]) constructs a pair of human-size wings in his Houston Astrodome nest to realize his dream. Meanwhile, conservative creeps, including a witchy "Star-Spangled Banner"-belting crone ([[Performer~P29975~Margaret Hamilton~margarethamilton]]) and Brewster's skinflint boss ([[Performer~P37233~Stacy Keach~stacykeach]]), keep turning up dead covered with bird droppings; the Houston Establishment calls in blue-eyed, turtleneck-wearing "San Francisco super cop" Frank Shaft ([[Performer~P103847~Michael Murphy~michaelmurphy]]) to investigate. Brewster cooks his own goose, however, when he defies Louise's edict against sex and hooks up with Astrodome usher Suzanne ([[Performer~P20847~Shelley Duvall~shelleyduvall]]) after she impresses him (and saves him) by out-driving Shaft in her Road Runner. Despite her apparent sweetness, Suzanne ultimately will not compromise her comfortable home for flight with Brewster. ~ Lucia Bozzola, Rovi

  • Release date:December 5, 1970

Cast

Bud Cort
as Brewster McCloud
Sally Kellerman
as Louise
Michael Murphy
as Frank Shaft
William Windom
as Haskel Weeks
Shelley Duvall
as Suzanne
René Auberjonois
as Lecturer
Stacy Keach
as Abraham Wright
John Schuck
as Lt. Alvin Johnson
Margaret Hamilton
as Daphne Heap
Jennifer Salt
as Hope
Bert Remsen
as Douglas Breen
Bill Baldwin
as Weeks's Aide

Crew

Robert Altman
Director
Lou Adler
Producer
Lamar Boren
Cinematographer
Jordan S. Cronenweth
Cinematographer
Rosamond Johnson
Songwriter
Lou Lombardo
Editor
George W. Davis
Art Director
George W. Davis
Set Designer
Tommy Thompson
First Assistant Director
Advertisement