Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Breach Details


director Billy Ray directs Chris Cooper and Ryan Philippe in this fact-based drama concerning the FBI traitor who carried out what many historians refer to as the most notable national security breach in U.S. history. A key member of the FBI's elite Soviet Analytical Unit, Robert Hanssen (Chris Cooper) would, for 15 years beginning in 1985, sell thousands of pages of classified documents to the Soviets. After making roughly 600,000 dollars on his clandestine endeavor and compromising everything from the identities of KGB spies working for the American government to nuclear war contingency plans, Hanssen was eventually transferred to a newly created position at the FBI's Washington headquarters and assigned the task of guarding his country's most sensitive secrets. It was while working in this capacity that a young agent named Eric O'Neill (Phillipe) was assigned the task of keeping tabs on Hanssen by suspicious higher-ups. Later, after being arrested while delivering a cache of secret documents to a "dead drop" spot in a Virginia park, the notorious traitor was arrested and sentenced to life in prison with no chance for parole. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:February 16, 2007


Mary Jo Deschanel
Chris Cooper
as Robert Hanssen
Ryan Phillippe
as Eric O'Neill
Laura Linney
as Kate Burroughs
Dennis Haysbert
as Dean Plesac
Gary Cole
as Rich Garces
Caroline Dhavernas
as Juliana O'Neill
Bruce Davison
as John O'Neill
Kathleen Quinlan
as Bonnie Hanssen


Billy Ray
Scott Strauss
Bobby Newmyer
Bill Rotko
Screen Story
Bill Rotko
Billy Ray
Adam Mazer
Screen Story
Adam Mazer
Tak Fujimoto
Mychael Danna
Composer (Music Score)
Wynn P. Thomas
Production Designer
Andrew M. Stearn
Art Director
Jeffrey Silver
David Michael O'Neill
Associate Producer
Adam Merims
Executive Producer
William Horberg
Executive Producer
Sidney Kimmel
Executive Producer
Brad Milburn
Set Designer
Rudy Braun
Set Designer
Michael Madden
Set Designer
Gordon Sim
Set Decorator
Luis M. Sequeira
Costume Designer
Cassandra Kulukundis
Andrew DeCristofaro
Supervising Sound Editor