Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Border Radio Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

In this semi-improvised look at life along the edges of L.A.'s rock scene, [[Performer~P16511~Chris D.~chrisd]] (real name [[Performer~P16511~Chris Desjardins~chrisd]], leader of the L.A. punk band The Flesh Eaters) plays Jeff, a singer/songwriter who has suddenly gone missing. Two of his friends, bandmate Dean ([[Performer~P223087~John Doe~johndoe]], from the group X) and faithful roadie Chris ([[Performer~P65020~Chris Shearer~chrisshearer]]), seem anxious to get in touch with him, and with good reason: Jeff and his band were stiffed by a club owner on payment for a recent gig, so they broke into the club's safe and took off with the loot. Now Jeff and the money have vanished, and Dean and Chris are torn between their concern for their friend's safety and their need to get their hands on the cash. Meanwhile, Jeff wanders aimlessly in Mexico, seemingly content after cutting himself off from the turmoil of his life in Los Angeles. Border Radio features members of several important California punk and roots bands in significant roles, including [[Performer~P79478~Dave Alvin~davealvin]] of [[Performer~P6711~The Blasters~theblasters]] and [[Performer~P142007~Texacala Jones~texacalajones]] of Tex and the Horseheads; [[Performer~P139393~Green on Red~greenonred]] are shown playing a club date and The Lazy Cowgirls are featured on the soundtrack. Co-directors [[Performer~P79587~Allison Anders~allisonanders]], [[Performer~P99339~Dean Lent~deanlent]], and [[Performer~P115622~Kurt Voss~kurtvoss]] were UCLA film students who met while working on the crew of [[Performer~P116407~Wim Wenders~wimwenders]]'s [[Feature~V37306~Paris, Texas~paristexas]]; [[Performer~P79587~Anders~allisonanders]] went on to make several notable features, including [[Feature~V19275~Gas Food Lodging~gasfoodlodging]] and [[Feature~V136158~Grace of My Heart~graceofmyheart]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Kurt Voss Best First Feature 1988 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Allison Anders Best First Feature 1988 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Dean Lent Best First Feature 1988 Nominee

Cast

Chris D
as Jeff
John Doe
as Dean
Luana Anders
as Lu
Dave Alvin
as Dave
Texacala Jones
as Babysitter
Devon Anders
as Devon
Chuck Shepard
as Expatriot
Eddie Flowers
as Thug
Craig Stark
as Thug

Crew

Allison Anders
Director
Dean Lent
Director
Kurt Voss
Director
Marcus de Leon
Producer
Kurt Voss
Screenwriter
Dean Lent
Screenwriter
Allison Anders
Screenwriter
Dean Lent
Cinematographer
John Doe
Composer (Music Score)
Bill Bateman
Composer (Music Score)
Dave Alvin
Composer (Music Score)
John Bazz
Composer (Music Score)
Robert L. Rosen
Associate Producer
Advertisement