Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Book Thief Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A young girl ([[Performer~P698046~Sophie Nelisse~sophienelisse]]) living with foster parents ([[Performer~P151418~Geoffrey Rush~geoffreyrush]] and [[Performer~P221329~Emily Watson~emilywatson]]) in Nazi Germany begins collecting forbidden books and sharing them with the Jewish refugee hiding in her home in this war drama adapted from [[Performer~P749354~Markus Zusak~markuszusak]]'s book by screenwriter [[Performer~P149288~Michael Petroni~michaelpetroni]] ([[Feature~V261164~The Dangerous Lives of Altar Boys~thedangerouslivesofaltarboys]]) and director [[Performer~P490242~Brian Percival~brianpercival]] ([[Feature~V528971~Downton Abbey~downtonabbey[tvseries]]]). ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:November 8, 2013

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
British Academy of Film and Television Arts John Williams Best Original Music 2013 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association John Williams Best Original Score 2013 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences John Williams Best Score 2013 Nominee

Cast

Geoffrey Rush
as Hans
Emily Watson
as Rosa
Roger Allam
as Narrator
Roger Allam
as Death
Heike Makatsch
as Liesel's Mother
Kirsten Block
as Frau Heinrich
Oliver Stokowski
as Alex Steiner
Hildegard Schroedter
as Frau Becker
Rainer Bock
as Buergmeister Hermann
Barbara Auer
as Ilsa Hermann
Sebastian Hülk
as Gestapo Agent
Beata Lehmann
as Woman with Champagne
Georg Tryphon
as Neighbor
Joachim Paul Assböck
as Officer
Martin Ontrop
as Herr Lehmann
Stephanie Stremler
as Post Woman

Crew

Brian Percival
Director
Karen Rosenfelt
Producer
Ken Blancato
Producer
Michael Petroni
Screenwriter
Florian Ballhaus
Cinematographer
John Williams
Composer (Music Score)
John Wilson
Editor
Simon Elliott
Production Designer
Bill Crutcher
Supervising Art Director
Jens Löckmann
Art Director
Anja Müller
Art Director
Christoph Fisser
Co-producer
Henning Molfenter
Co-producer
Redmond Morris
Executive Producer
Katja Fischer
Set Designer
Anna Sheppard
Costume Designer
Glenn Freemantle
Sound/Sound Designer
Phil Booth
First Assistant Director
Ben Barker
Sound Effects Editor
Tom Rye
Second Assistant Director
Uli Nefzer
Special Effects Supervisor
Manfred Banach
Production Sound Mixer
Niv Adiri
Re-Recording Mixer
Jeanette Haley
Post Production Supervisor
Jens Schmiedel
Special Effects Supervisor
Klaus Mielich
Special Effects Coordinator
Glenn Freemantle
Supervising Sound Editor
Fae Hammond
Makeup
Fae Hammond
Hair Designer
Bridgette Rodriguez
Costumes Supervisor
Andy Nelson
Re-Recording Mixer
Advertisement

Other movies like this