Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Bonjour Tristesse Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P62591~Francoise Sagan~francoisesagan]]'s bittersweet novel Bonjour Tristesse is given a sumptuous Riviera-filmed screen treatment. [[Performer~P52791~David Niven~davidniven]] plays a wealthy playboy, the father of teenaged libertine-in-the-making [[Performer~P64256~Jean Seberg~jeanseberg]]. [[Performer~P64256~Seberg~jeanseberg]] tolerates most of her father's mistresses, but doesn't know what to make of the prudish [[Performer~P37896~Deborah Kerr~deborahkerr]], who will not cohabit with [[Performer~P52791~Niven~davidniven]] until after they're married. Feeling that her own relation with her father will be disrupted by [[Performer~P37896~Kerr~deborahkerr]]'s presence, [[Performer~P64256~Seberg~jeanseberg]] does her malicious best to break up the relationship--only to be beaten to the punch by [[Performer~P52791~Niven~davidniven]], who despite his promises of fidelity to [[Performer~P37896~Kerr~deborahkerr]] cannot give up his hedonistic lifestyle. The combination of the daughter's disdain and the father's rakishness drive [[Performer~P37896~Kerr~deborahkerr]] to suicide. [[Performer~P52791~Niven~davidniven]] and [[Performer~P64256~Seberg~jeanseberg]] continue pursuing their lavish but empty lifestyle, though both realize that their lack of moral fibre has destroyed a life. The incestuous undertones of the original [[Performer~P62591~Sagan~francoisesagan]] novel are only slightly downplayed in the film version; the "tristesse" (sadness) is visually conveyed by filming the [[Performer~P37896~Deborah Kerr~deborahkerr]] flashback scenes in color and the opening and closing of the film in bleak black and white. Bonjour Tristesse was codirected by [[Performer~P107025~Otto Preminger~ottopreminger]], who'd previously discovered [[Performer~P64256~Jean Seberg~jeanseberg]] for his benighted 1957 filmization of [[Feature~V42612~Saint Joan~saintjoan]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:September 6, 2013

Cast

Deborah Kerr
as Anne Larsen
David Niven
as Raymond
Jean Seberg
as Cecile
Mylène Demongeot
as Elsa Mackenbourg
Geoffrey Horne
as Philippe
Juliette Greco
as Night Club Singer
Walter Chiari
as Pablo
Martita Hunt
as Philippe's Mother
Jean Kent
as Mrs. Lombard
David Oxley
as Jacques
Elga Andersen
as Denise
Jeremy Burnham
as Hubert Duclos
Roland Culver
as Mr. Lombard
Tutte Lemkow
as Pierre Schube

Crew

Otto Preminger
Director
Otto Preminger
Producer
Georges Périnal
Cinematographer
Georges Auric
Composer (Music Score)
Roger Furse
Production Designer
Ray Simm
Art Director
Red Law
Sound/Sound Designer
David Hildyard
Sound/Sound Designer
Tutte Lemkow
Choreography
Advertisement