Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Blues Brothers 2000 Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P80282~Dan Aykroyd~danaykroyd]] and [[Performer~P98623~John Landis~johnlandis]] teamed to script this sequel to [[Feature~V60974~The Blues Brothers~thebluesbrothers]] (1980), which they also co-scripted. With [[Performer~P98623~Landis~johnlandis]] once again at the helm as director, [[Performer~P80282~Aykroyd~danaykroyd]] re-creates his role of rhythm-and-blues man Elwood Blues, and the film's numerous R&B performances and production numbers include [[Performer~P24780~Aretha Franklin~arethafranklin]] singing her classic "Respect". Released from prison after serving 18 years for the havoc depicted in the first film, Elwood learns that while he was serving time, his pal Jake Blues ([[Performer~P5234~John Belushi~johnbelushi]]) has died, as did their hi-de-ho music mentor Curtis ([[Performer~P10087~Cab Calloway~cabcalloway]]). Times have changed, but the blues beat goes on. Elwood visits Mother Mary Stigmata ([[Performer~P24965~Kathleen Freeman~kathleenfreeman]]), who runs the orphanage where Elwood and Jake were raised, and she puts 10-year-old Buster ([[Performer~P195263~J. Evan Bonifant~evanbonifant]]) in Elwood's care. Seeking a loan, Elwood visits Curtis' son, Cabel Chamberlain ([[Performer~P50922~Joe Morton~joemorton]]), and Buster picks Cabel's pocket. Now, 18 years after the original "mission from God," Elwood attempts to reorganize the Blues Brothers Band, beginning with bartender Mighty Mack McTeer ([[Performer~P27679~John Goodman~johngoodman]]) as a replacement for Jake. With the Russian Mafia in hot pursuit, Elwood, Mack, and Buster head cross-country, locating band members as they travel pell-mell toward a scheduled battle of the bands in Louisiana where the Blues Brothers Band competes with the Lousiana Gator Boys Band ([[Performer~P85122~Eric Clapton~ericclapton]], [[Performer~P38262~B.B. King~bbking]], [[Performer~P87771~Bo Diddley~bodiddley]], [[Performer~P20033~Dr. John~drjohn]], [[Performer~P71824~Travis Tritt~travistritt]], [[Performer~P117104~Steve Winwood~stevewinwood]], [[Performer~P85254~Clarence Clemmons~clarenceclemons]], [[Performer~P31228~Isaac Hayes~isaachayes]]). Filmed in Toronto and Chicago, this movie reunited [[Performer~P80282~Aykroyd~danaykroyd]] and [[Performer~P27679~Goodman~johngoodman]], who were seen previously in the 1996 video, The Return of the Blues Brothers, a performance taped January 24, 1995 at the House of Blues in Los Angeles. Elsewhere, the Blues Brothers are kept alive in a half-dozen or so websites, such as the House of Blues, and live stage productions. In England, the stage show [[Feature~V60974~A Tribute to the Blues Brothers~thebluesbrothers]] began in 1991. At the request of [[Performer~P80282~Aykroyd~danaykroyd]] and [[Performer~P81321~Judy Belushi~jamesbelushi]], the title of that production was changed to [[Feature~V50991~The Official Tribute to the Blues Brothers.~tributetotheboys]] With various cast members in the roles of Jake and Elwood ([[Performer~P121474~Con O'Neill~cononeill]], Warwick Evans, Brad Henshaw, [[Performer~P90228~Simon Foster~peterfoster]]), the show toured Britain throughout the 1990s. The "original Blues Brother" (who coached [[Performer~P5234~John Belushi~johnbelushi]] and originated some of the blues raps used by [[Performer~P5234~Belushi~johnbelushi]]) is Curtis Salgado (of the Robert Cray Band). One cast member of Blues Brothers 2000, bluesman [[Performer~P75468~Junior Wells~juniorwells]], the last of the great Chicago harmonica players, died in January 1998, only days before the film was released. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:February 6, 1998

Cast

Dan Aykroyd
as Elwood Blues
John Goodman
as Mighty Mack McTeer
Joe Morton
as Cabel Chamberlain
Nia Peeples
as Lt. Elizondo
Kathleen Freeman
as Mother Mary Stigmata
Frank Oz
as Prison Warden
Steve Lawrence
as Maury Sline
Erykah Badu
as Queen Mousette
Darrell Hammond
as Robertson
Aretha Franklin
as Mrs. Murphy
James Brown
as Rev. Cleophus James
B.B. King
as Malvern Gasperon
Steve Cropper
as Himself
Murphy Dunne
as Himself
Lou Marini
as Himself
Alan Rubin
as Mr. Fabulous
Sam Moore
as Reverend Morris
Jonny Lang
as Janitor
Lonnie Brooks
as Himself
Paul Shaffer
as Marco

Crew

John Landis
Director
Leslie Belzberg
Producer
John Landis
Producer
Dan Aykroyd
Producer
Dan Aykroyd
Screenwriter
John Landis
Screenwriter
David Herrington
Cinematographer
Paul Shaffer
Composer (Music Score)
Dale Beldin
Editor
Bill Brodie
Production Designer
Dan Yarhi
Art Director
Grace Gilroy
Associate Producer
Deborah Nadoolman
Costume Designer
Glen Gauthier
Sound/Sound Designer
Barry Lather
Choreography
Joanna Colbert
Casting
Ross Clydesdale
Casting
Rick Avery
Stunts Coordinator
Advertisement