Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Blue Valentine Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A relationship is charted from its promising beginning to its sad collapse in this independent drama from [[Performer~P235822~Derek Cianfrance~derekcianfrance]]. Dean ([[Performer~P279096~Ryan Gosling~ryangosling]]) meets Cindy ([[Performer~P198320~Michelle Williams~michellewilliams]]) when they're in their late teens; he's working for a moving company, she's a college student visiting her elderly grandmother at a home for the elderly. Cindy is dating Bobby ([[Performer~P357424~Mike Vogel~mikevogel]]), her boyfriend from high school, but as she gets to know Dean better, a mutual attraction grows between them. Years later, Dean and Cindy are married and have a daughter, Frankie ([[Performer~P646928~Faith Wladyka~faithwladyka]]), but they're clearly not as happy as they once were; Dean loves his daughter but feels distant from his wife, they have to look after an elderly relative ([[Performer~P225813~John Doman~johndoman]]), and when Cindy bumps into Bobby while running errands, it's clear he still holds a grudge against her. Dean and Cindy go away for a weekend together at a hotel, but it doesn't take long for them to realize that the magic isn't coming back. Blue Valentine received its world premiere at the 2010 Sundance Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:December 29, 2010

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
London Film Critics Association Ryan Gosling Best Actor 2010 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Ryan Gosling Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Drama 2010 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Michelle Williams Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama 2010 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Michelle Williams Best Actress 2010 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Michelle Williams Best Female Lead 2010 Nominee

Crew

Derek Cianfrance
Director
Lynette Howell
Producer
Jamie Patricof
Producer
Alex Orlovsky
Producer
Derek Cianfrance
Screenwriter
Joey Curtis
Screenwriter
Andrij Parekh
Cinematographer
Ron Patane
Editor
Inbal Weinberg
Production Designer
Carrie Fix
Co-producer
Ryan Gosling
Executive Producer
Jack Lechner
Executive Producer
Michelle Williams
Executive Producer
Doug Dey
Executive Producer
Erin Benach
Costume Designer
Mariela Comitini
First Assistant Director
Oliver Cary
Camera Operator
Ben Shenkman
Casting
John Doman
Casting
Jen Jones
Casting
Mike Vogel
Casting
Damian Canelos
Sound Mixer
Maryann Plunkett
Casting
Cindy Tolan
Casting
Rena Ronson
Co-Executive Producer
Drew Jiritano
Special Effects Coordinator
Tony Osso
Script Supervisor
Cassian Elwes
Co-Executive Producer
Blaise Corrigan
Stunts Coordinator
Tony Volante
Re-Recording Mixer
Manny Siverio
Stunts Coordinator
Carrie Fix
Unit Production Manager
Advertisement