Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Blue Hawaii Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

One of [[Performer~P107032~Elvis Presley~elvispresley]]'s most successful post-Army vehicles, Blue Hawaii casts [[Performer~P107032~Elvis~elvispresley]] as scion to a Hawaiian pineapple fortune. His snooty mother [[Performer~P40519~Angela Lansbury~angelalansbury]] wants [[Performer~P107032~Presley~elvispresley]] to take over the management of the family business, but he'd rather make his own way in the world. He lands a job at a tourist agency, and incidentally finds time to dally with such lovelies as [[Performer~P6468~Joan Blackman~joanblackman]] and [[Performer~P74522~Nancy Walters~nancywalters]]. [[Performer~P8634~Steve Brodie~stevebrodie]], as ever, is on hand to inveigle [[Performer~P107032~Elvis~elvispresley]] into an outsized brawl. Among the songs featured in the film are the title number (originally written in 1937 for [[Performer~P15874~Bing Crosby~bingcrosby]]) and "Can't Help Falling in Love." ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Elvis Presley
as Chad Gates
Joan Blackman
as Maile Duval
Nancy Walters
as Abigail Prentice
Roland Winters
as Fred Gates
Angela Lansbury
as Sarah Lee Gates
John Archer
as Jack Kelman
Howard McNear
as Mr. Chapman
Flora Hayes
as Mrs. Manaka
Steve Brodie
as Tucker Garvey
Darlene Tompkins
as Patsy Simon
Christian Kay
as Beverly Martin
Jenny Maxwell
as Ellie Corbett
Lani Kai
as Carl Tanami
Hilo Hattie
as Waihila
Gregory Gaye
as Mr. Duval
Iris Adrian
as Enid Garvey

Crew

Norman Taurog
Director
Hal B. Wallis
Producer
Hal Kanter
Screenwriter
Allan Weiss
Screenwriter
Charles B. Lang
Cinematographer
Dolores Fuller
Songwriter
Warren Low
Editor
Advertisement