Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Blow Dry Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

When the tiny burgh of Keighley lands the rights to host the annual British hairdressing championships, practically every city in the United Kingdom is represented in the competition -- except Keighley itself. It seems the event is team-oriented, and the only suitable local contestants had a huge falling out a decade ago. For Brian ([[Performer~P241673~Josh Hartnett~joshhartnett]]), the son of two hairdressers, that falling out had personal consequences: His mother Shelley ([[Performer~P60084~Natasha Richardson~natasharichardson]]) left his father Phil ([[Performer~P60157~Alan Rickman~alanrickman]]) to take up with Phil's hair model Sandra ([[Performer~P196152~Rachel Griffiths~rachelgriffiths]]). Since then, former styling champ Phil has settled for training Brian to help run his lowly barber shop, while Shelley and Sandra have opened a salon of their own. But when Shelley learns that she has terminal cancer, she reaches out to her family in hopes that a reunion for the hairdressing contest might help them all find some sense of closure. To complicate matters, Phil's old arch-nemesis, Ray ([[Performer~P52695~Bill Nighy~billnighy]]), is now a two-time champ looking for a three-peat, and he's brought along his beautiful American daughter Christina ([[Performer~P199005~Rachael Leigh Cook~rachaelleighcook]]) to work on his team. Blow Dry also marks the screen debut of supermodel [[Performer~P278408~Heidi Klum~heidiklum]]. ~ Brian J. Dillard, Rovi

  • Release date:March 9, 2001

Crew

Paddy Breathnach
Director
Sydney Pollack
Producer
David Rubin
Producer
William Horberg
Producer
Ruth Jackson
Producer
Moritz Borman
Producer
Simon Beaufoy
Screenwriter
Cían de Buitléar
Cinematographer
Patrick Doyle
Composer (Music Score)
Bob Last
Musical Direction/Supervision
Tony Lawson
Editor
Sophie Becher
Production Designer
Sarah Hauldren
Art Director
Mark Cooper
Co-producer
David Brown
Associate Producer
Julie Goldstein
Executive Producer
Nigel Sinclair
Executive Producer
Sydney Pollack
Executive Producer
Guy East
Executive Producer
Bob Weinstein
Executive Producer
Harvey Weinstein
Executive Producer
Meryl Poster
Executive Producer
Niamh Coulter
Set Designer
Niamh Coulter
Set Decorator
Rosie Hackett
Costume Designer
Simon Moseley
First Assistant Director
Gail Stevens
Casting
Jenny Shircore
Makeup
Jenny Shircore
Hair Styles
Advertisement