Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Blind Date Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Co-writer and director [[Performer~P101658~Nico Mastorakis~nicomastorakis]] filmed this unusual low-budget thriller in his native Athens, Greece. [[Performer~P7587~Timothy Bottoms~timothybottoms]] stars as Jonathan Ratcliff, an American advertising executive who has lost his sight, although the specialist he consults, Dr. Steiger ([[Performer~P20475~Keir Dullea~keirdullea]]), feels that the cause is psychosomatic. Fitted with a camera-like sonar device that allows him to "see," even if in a non-traditional and rather limited way, Ratcliff takes a vacation in Greece. When he witnesses the murder of a woman with his seeing-eye electronic device, he becomes obsessed with tracking down the killer. Ratcliff's quarry turns out to be a taxi driver armed with a scalpel -- and good eyesight. Blind Date (1984) (alternately titled Deadly Seduction) is notable for early appearances by a trio of actresses who would go on to do bigger and better things: [[Performer~P1093~Kirstie Alley~kirstiealley]], [[Performer~P27523~Valeria Golino~valeriagolino]], and [[Performer~P66014~Marina Sirtis~marinasirtis]]. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

Cast

Joseph Bottoms
as Jonathon Ratcliffe
Kirstie Alley
as Claire Simpson
James Daughton
as Dave
Lana Clarkson
as Rachel
Keir Dullea
as Dr. Steiger
Gerry Sundquist
as Subway Gang Member
Andrew Johnson
as Dr. Steiger's Assistant
Valeria Golino
as Girl in Bikini
Charles Nicklin
Marina Sirtis
as Hooker
Louis Sheldon
as Murdered Lover
Danos Lygizos

Crew

Nico Mastorakis
Director
Nico Mastorakis
Producer
Nico Mastorakis
Screenwriter
Fred C. Perry
Screenwriter
Hans Zimmer
Composer (Music Score)
Stanley Myers
Composer (Music Score)
Advertisement