Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Blazing Saddles Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Vulgar, crude, and occasionally scandalous in its racial humor, this hilarious bad-taste spoof of Westerns, co-written by [[Performer~P107177~Richard Pryor~richardpryor]], features [[Performer~P42706~Cleavon Little~cleavonlittle]] as the first black sheriff of a stunned town scheduled for demolition by an encroaching railroad. Little and co-star [[Performer~P116771~Gene Wilder~genewilder]] have great chemistry, and the delightful supporting cast includes [[Performer~P39121~Harvey Korman~harveykorman]], [[Performer~P56691~Slim Pickens~slimpickens]], and [[Performer~P36650~Madeline Kahn~madelinekahn]] as a chanteuse modelled on [[Performer~P19148~Marlene Dietrich~marlenedietrich]]. As in [[Feature~V55978~Young Frankenstein~youngfrankenstein]] (1974), [[Feature~V44686~Silent Movie~silentmovie]] (1976), and [[Feature~V22354~High Anxiety~highanxiety]] (1977), director/writer [[Performer~P83158~Mel Brooks~melbrooks]] gives a burlesque spin to a classic Hollywood movie genre; in his own manic, Borscht Belt way, Brooks was a central player in revising classic genres in light of Seventies values and attitudes, an effort most often associated with such directors as [[Performer~P79456~Robert Altman~robertaltman]] and [[Performer~P82288~Peter Bogdanovich~peterbogdanovich]] . Some of this film's sequences, notably a gaseous bean dinner around a campfire, have become comedy classics. ~ Robert Firsching, Rovi

  • Release date:February 7, 1974

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Madeline Kahn Best Supporting Actress 1974 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences John C. Howard Best Editing 1974 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Mel Brooks Best Song 1974 Nominee

Cast

Cleavon Little
as Bart
Gene Wilder
as Jim, the Waco Kid
Slim Pickens
as Taggart
Harvey Korman
as Hedley Lamarr
David Huddleston
as Olson Johnson
Mel Brooks
as Governor Lepetomane
Mel Brooks
as Indian Chief
Alex Karras
as Mongo
Madeline Kahn
as Lili Von Shtupp
Burton Gilliam
as Lyle
Carol Arthur
as Harriett Johnson
Charles McGregor
as Charlie
Don Megowan
as Gum-chewer
Liam Dunn
as Reverend Johnson
Robyn Hilton
as Miss Stein
Richard Collier
as Dr. Sam Johnson
John Hillerman
as Howard Johnson
Dom DeLuise
as Buddy Bizarre
George Furth
as Van Johnson

Crew

Mel Brooks
Director
Michael Hertzberg
Producer
Andrew Bergman
Screen Story
Andrew Bergman
Screenwriter
Norman Steinberg
Screenwriter
Richard Pryor
Screenwriter
Mel Brooks
Screenwriter
Alan Uger
Screenwriter
Joseph Biroc
Cinematographer
Mel Brooks
Songwriter
C. Timothy O'Meara
Editor
John C. Howard
Editor
Morrie Hoffman
Set Designer
Thomas S. Dawson
Costume Designer
Alan Uger
First Assistant Director
Alan Johnson
Choreography
Snooky Young
Musical Performer
Advertisement