Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Blank City Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Take a trip back to a time when New York City wasn't all glitz and glamour as filmmaker [[Performer~P621472~Celine Danhier~celinedanhier]] offers a look at the birth of "No Wave Cinema" and the vibrant art scene that exploded out of the East Village in the late '70s. In the years before [[Performer~P59108~Ronald Reagan~ronaldreagan]] took office, Manhattan was in ruins. But true art has never come from comfort, and it was precisely those dire circumstances that inspired artists like [[Performer~P95892~Jim Jarmusch~jimjarmusch]], [[Performer~P42783~Lizzy Borden~lizzyborden]], and [[Performer~P106697~Amos Poe~amospoe]] to produce some of their best works. Taking their cues from punk rock and new wave music, these young maverick filmmakers confronted viewers with a stark reality that stood in powerful contrast to the escapist product being churned out by Hollywood. Interviews with the aforementioned artists as well as [[Performer~P93586~Debbie Harry~deborahharry]], [[Performer~P9838~Steve Buscemi~stevebuscemi]], [[Performer~P218832~John Waters~johnwaters]], [[Performer~P100413~John Lurie~johnlurie]], [[Performer~P43755~Lydia Lunch~lydialunch]], and [[Performer~P192253~Thurston Moore~thurstonmoore]] reveal how a group of young visionaries pooled their resources to birth a film movement that produced some of the most challenging art of the 20th century. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:April 6, 2011

Crew

Celine Danhier
Director
Aviva Wishnow
Producer
Vanessa Roworth
Producer
Ryo Murakami
Cinematographer
Peter Szollosi
Cinematographer
Patti Smith
Composer (Music Score)
Sonic Youth
Composer (Music Score)
Lydia Lunch
Composer (Music Score)
Vanessa Roworth
Editor
Anish Savjani
Co-producer
Dan Braun
Executive Producer
Josh Braun
Executive Producer
Fisher Stevens
Executive Producer
Andrew S. Karsch
Executive Producer
Eric Offin
Sound/Sound Designer
Advertisement