Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Black Caesar Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Cult director [[Performer~P85412~Larry Cohen~larrycohen]] ([[Feature~V25535~It's Alive~itsalive]]) directed this violent blaxploitation film. Nasty racist John McKinney cripples a black shoeshine boy, who grows up to be Tommy Gibbs ([[Performer~P116922~Fred Williamson~fredwilliamson]]), the Godfather of Harlem. The crimelord now has his tormentor McKinney ([[Performer~P43757~Art Lund~artlund]]) in his pocket, based on the cop's mob ties. Tommy's traitorous girlfriend Helen ([[Performer~P31755~Gloria Hendry~gloriahendry]]) hands over the evidence, and McKinney moves in for the kill. But he may have underestimated the violent Tommy, who makes him shine his shoes in blackface while singing "Mammy." [[Performer~P80455~Rick Baker~rickbaker]] provided makeup effects, and [[Performer~P222975~James Brown~jamesbrown]] did the music for this bloody oddity, followed the same year by [[Feature~V22066~Hell Up in Harlem~hellupinharlem]]. [[Performer~P85412~Cohen~larrycohen]] and [[Performer~P116922~Williamson~fredwilliamson]] got together 23 years later for an interesting (if unsuccessful) attempt at reviving the genre, [[Feature~V135939~Original Gangstas~originalgangstas]]. ~ Robert Firsching, Rovi

  • Release date:February 7, 1973

Cast

James Dixon
as Bryant
Julius Harris
as Mr. Gibbs
Larry Lurin
as Carlos
Margaret Avery
Minnie Gentry
as Mama Gibbs
Myrna Hansen
as Virginia Coleman
Omer Jeffrey
as Tommy as a Boy
Patrick McAllister
as Grossfield
Philip Roye
as Joe Washington
Val Avery
as Cardoza
Fred Williamson
as Tommy Gibbs
Cecil Alonzo
as Motor
Allen Balley
as Sport
Gloria Hendry
as Helen

Crew

Larry Cohen
Director
Larry Cohen
Producer
Larry Cohen
Screenwriter
James Signorelli
Cinematographer
Fenton Hamilton
Cinematographer
James Brown
Composer (Music Score)
George Folsey, Jr.
Editor
Larry Lurin
Production Designer
Alex Vandekar
Sound/Sound Designer
Rick Baker
Special Effects
Advertisement