Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Black Swan Details


Perhaps unintentionally, the 1942 Technicolor swashbuckler The Black Swan is a bondage fetishist's dream, with hero and heroine Tyrone Power and Maureen O'Hara taking turns being tied up and imprisoned throughout the film's brisk 85-minute running time. Very loosely adapted by Ben Hecht and Seton I. Miller from a novel by Rafael Sabatini, the film casts Power as rogueish, hot-tempered buccaneer Jamie Waring, who considers the day wasted when he hasn't sacked a Spanish galleon or plundered a rich coastal town. Jamie's partner in crime is pirate king Henry Morgan Laird Cregar, an alliance that comes to an end when Morgan is appointed governor of Jamaica. Disgusted by this defection, Jamie considers joining the scurrilous Redbeard George Sanders, but eventually decides to reform his ways when he falls in love with Margaret Denby Maureen O'Hara, the gorgeous daughter of the former Jamaican governor Lord Denby George Zucco. Before the final obligatory sail into the sunset, however, Margaret is kidnapped and manhandled on a seemingly hourly basis, while Jamie is subjected to even more abuse at the hands of pirates and officials alike. Henry King handles the derring-do in Black Swan with commendable sobriety, leaving the story's tongue-in-cheek elements in the capable hands of the cast and the screenwriters. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Roger Heman Best Special Effects 1942 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Leon Shamroy Best Color Cinematography 1942 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Alfred Newman Best Score - Drama or Comedy 1942 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Fred Sersen Best Special Effects 1942 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences George Leverett Best Special Effects 1942 Nominee


Tyrone Power
as James Waring
Maureen O'Hara
as Margaret Denby
Laird Cregar
as Capt. Henry Morgan
Thomas Mitchell
as Tommy Blue
George Sanders
as Capt. Billy Leech
Anthony Quinn
as Wogan
George Zucco
as Lord Denby
Edward Ashley
as Roger Ingram
Fortunio Bonanova
as Don Miguel
Charles McNaughton
as Fenner
Frederic Worlock
as Speaker
Willie Fung
as Chinese Cook
Arthur Shields
as Bishop
Keith Hitchcock
as Majordomo
Cyril McLaglen
as Capt. Jones
Clarence Muse
as Daniel
Olaf Hytten
as Clerk
Charles Irwin
as Sea Captain
David Thursby
as Sea Captain


Henry King
Robert Bassler
Seton Miller
Seton Miller
Adaptation by
Ben Hecht
Rafael Sabatini
Book Author
Leon Shamroy
Alfred Newman
Composer (Music Score)
Richard Day
Art Director
James Basevi
Art Director