Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Black Power Mixtape 1967-1975 Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

In the late '60s, after the assassination of both [[Performer~P366897~Malcolm X~malcolmx]] and [[Performer~P38332~Martin Luther King~martinlutherkingjr]], the civil rights movement in America gave way to a more militant breed of activists who were demanding greater self-determination for the African-American community and the right to defend themselves against a system they felt was stacked against them. A number of journalists for Swedish television were fascinated with the rise of the Black Panther Party and the larger Black Power movement, and on several occasions sent film crews to the United State to interview major figures in the African-American militant community. Filmmaker [[Performer~P615918~Göran Hugo Olsson~göranolsson]] has used some of this archival footage as the basis for the documentary The Black Power Mixtape: 1967-1975, which includes vintage interviews with [[Performer~P362880~Angela Davis~angeladavis]], [[Performer~P525036~Eldridge Cleaver~eldridgecleaver]], [[Performer~P614081~Huey P. Newton~hueypnewton]], [[Performer~P128909~Stokely Carmichael~stokelycarmichael]], [[Performer~P64211~Bobby Seale~bobbyseale]], [[Performer~P22748~Louis Farrakhan~louisfarrakhan]], and other key figures in the Black Power movement. The newsreels are accompanied by recent interviews with artists, activists, and cultural historians who discuss this volatile period in American history, including [[Performer~P5054~Harry Belafonte~harrybelafonte]], Abiodun Oyewole, [[Performer~P72764~Melvin Van Peebles~melvinvanpeebles]], and many others. The Black Power Mixtape was an official selection at the 2011 Sundance Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:September 9, 2011
Advertisement