Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Black Nativity Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Director [[Performer~P41757~Kasi Lemmons~kasilemmons]] updates [[Performer~P310598~Langston Hughes~langstonhughes]]' acclaimed play for the screen in this inspirational musical drama with a positive spiritual message. Langston ([[Performer~P670370~Jacob Latimore~jacoblatimore]]) is a street-smart Baltimore teen who lives with his single mother Naima ([[Performer~P454405~Jennifer Hudson~jenniferhudson]]). It's Christmas, and this year Jordan is traveling to New York City for a stay with his distant relatives Reverend Cornell ([[Performer~P116578~Forest Whitaker~forestwhitaker]]) and Aretha Cobbs ([[Performer~P4466~Angela Bassett~angelabassett]]). When Reverent Cornell's strict rules prove too oppressive for the rebellious teen to handle, however, Jordan decides he'd rather spend the holidays with his mother, and embarks on an eye-opening journey that teaches him the true importance of faith and family. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:November 27, 2013

Cast

Forest Whitaker
as Reverend Cornell Cobbs
Angela Bassett
as Aretha Cobbs
Tyrese Gibson
as Loot/Tyson
Mary J. Blige
as Angel
Jennifer Hudson
as Naima
Vondie Curtis-Hall
as Pawnbroker
Angela Bassett
as Aretha Cobbs
Forest Whitaker
as Reverend Cornell Cobbs
Jennifer Hudson
as Naima

Crew

Kasi Lemmons
Director
Celine Rattray
Producer
Galt Niederhoffer
Producer
William Horberg
Producer
Langston Hughes
Play Author
Kasi Lemmons
Screenwriter
Anastas Michos
Cinematographer
Raphael Saadiq
Composer (Music Score)
Laura Karpman
Composer (Music Score)
Terilyn A. Shropshire
Editor
Kristi Zea
Production Designer
Bergen Swanson
Co-producer
John O'Grady
Associate Producer
Trudie Styler
Executive Producer
T.D. Jakes
Executive Producer
Joy Goodwin
Executive Producer
Diane Lederman
Set Decorator
Adam Escott
First Assistant Director
Gerard Sava
Camera Operator
William Sarokin
Sound Mixer
Manny Siverio
Stunts Coordinator
Nicholas Vanderpool
Second Assistant Director
Anita Gibson
Department Head Makeup
Danielle Blumstein
Production Supervisor
Raphael Saadiq
Executive Music Producer
Lewis Goldstein
Supervising Sound Editor
Bergen Swanson
Unit Production Manager
Eric J. Robertson
Visual Effects Supervisor
Lewis Goldstein
Re-Recording Mixer
Raphael Saadiq
Music Producer
Erin Hicks
Department Head Hair
Laura Karpman
Music Producer
Sean Garnhart
Re-Recording Mixer
Advertisement