Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Big Town Details


The Big Town is Chicago, circa 1957. [[Performer~P19210~Matt Dillon~mattdillon]] stars as a small-town crapshooter who heads to the Windy City to seek his fortune. There he becomes the pawn of two high-rolling professional gamblers, played by [[Performer~P92333~Lee Grant~leegrant]] and [[Performer~P18703~Bruce Dern~brucedern]]. He later gets mixed up in a revenge scheme cooked up by [[Performer~P40350~Diane Lane~dianelane]], the embittered wife of strip-joint owner [[Performer~P36238~Tommy Lee Jones~tommyleejones]]. Before he knows what's happened, [[Performer~P19210~Dillon~mattdillon]] is embroiled in two torrid romances, one with [[Performer~P40350~Lane~dianelane]] and the other with "nice" girl [[Performer~P1389~Suzy Amis~suzyamis]]; he also nearly loses his life by ending up in the middle of a deadly feud between [[Performer~P18703~Dern~brucedern]] and [[Performer~P36238~Jones~tommyleejones]]. Based on The Arm, a novel by Clark Howard, Big Town tends towards uneveness, a result perhaps of the defection of its first director, [[Performer~P81160~Harold Becker~haroldbecker]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:September 25, 1987


Matt Dillon
as J.C. Cullen
Diane Lane
as Lorry Dane
Tommy Lee Jones
as George Cole
Bruce Dern
as Mr. Edwards
Lee Grant
as Ferguson Edwards
Tom Skerritt
as Phil Carpenter
Suzy Amis
as Aggie Donaldson
David Marshall Grant
as Sonny Binkley
Chris Benson
as Shooter
Chris Owens
as Garage Boy
Richard Comar
as Gem Club Gambler
J. Winston Carroll
as Detective
Marc Strange
as Madigan
Alar Aedma
as Doorman
Diego Matamoros
as Sid
Don Francks
as Carl Hooker
Errol Slue
as Friendly Guy
Gary Farmer
as Duke
Gerry Pearson
as Baptist Preacher
David James Elliott
as Cool Guy
Don Lake
as Patsy Fuqua
Del Close
as Deacon Daniels
John Evans
as Marvin Brown
Len Doncheff
as Gem Club Gambler
Mark Danton
as Prager
Meg Hogarth
as Dorothy Cullen
Michael Caruana
as Gem Club Gambler
Robert Morelli
as Sideburns
Sam Malkin
as Bernstein
Sean McCann
as Roy Mc Mullin
Steve Yorke
as Garage Boy
Cherry Jones
as Ginger McDonald
Lolita Davidovich
as Black Lace Stripper
Sarah Polley
as Christy Donaldson
Hugo Dann
as Elmo
Angelo Rizacos
as Harold
Ken McGregor
as Bartender
Kirsten Bishop
as Adele
Layne Coleman
as Murphy


Ben Bolt
Martin Ransohoff
Clark Howard
Book Author
Robert Roy Pool
Ralf Bode
George Motola
Glen Douglas
Cliff Friend
Featured Music
Michael Melvoin
Composer (Music Score)
Henry Glover
John Marascalco
Johnny Cash
Kurt Weill
Featured Music
Lattie Moore
Lillie McAlpin
Lincoln Chase
Stuart H. Pappe
Maher Ahmad
Art Director
Dan Yarhi
Art Director
Don Carmody
Jon Turtle
Associate Producer
Mark Freeborn
Set Designer
Rose Marie McSherry
Set Designer
Raymond Fleischman
Set Designer
Wendy Partridge
Costume Designer
Neil Trifunovich
Special Effects
Don French
First Assistant Director
Nancy Klopper
Katherine Southern