Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Big Sky Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Feature~V141175~The Big Sky~saraakash]] is based on a popular novel by [[Performer~P175743~A.B. Guthrie~abguthriejr]]. [[Performer~P88133~Kirk Douglas~kirkdouglas]] and [[Performer~P45946~Dewey Martin~deweymartin]] play a pair of Kentucky frontiersmen who embark upon the first keelboat trip up the Missouri River way back in 1830. Joining [[Performer~P88133~Douglas~kirkdouglas]] and [[Performer~P45946~Martin~deweymartin]] are [[Performer~P45946~Martin~deweymartin]]'s grizzled old uncle [[Performer~P33950~Arthur Hunnicutt~arthurhunnicutt]] and garrulous Frenchman [[Performer~P26529~Steven Geray~stevengeray]]. Running afoul of various Indian tribes, [[Performer~P88133~Douglas~kirkdouglas]] nonetheless romances Sioux princess [[Performer~P70865~Elizabeth Threatt~elizabeththreatt]] (their off-screen relationship was on the kinky side, as an embarrassed [[Performer~P88133~Douglas~kirkdouglas]] reveals in his autobiography). Director [[Performer~P93764~Howard Hawks~howardhawks]] leavens the Boys' Own Adventure atmosphere of the film with a few isolated comic sequences, including a sidesplitting scene in which [[Performer~P88133~Douglas~kirkdouglas]]' gangrenous finger is cut off. Produced for RKO Radio by [[Performer~P93764~Hawks~howardhawks]]' own Winchester Pictures, [[Feature~V141175~The Big Sky~saraakash]] was released at 141 minutes, though the TV print runs 122 minutes. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:August 19, 1952

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Arthur Hunnicutt Best Supporting Actor 1952 Nominee
Directors Guild of America Howard Hawks Best Director 1952 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Russell Harlan Best Black and White Cinematography 1952 Nominee

Cast

Kirk Douglas
as Jim Deakins
Dewey Martin
as Boone Caudell
Elizabeth Threatt
as Teal Eye
Arthur Hunnicutt
as Zeb
Buddy Baer
as Romaine
Hank Worden
as Poordevil
Steven Geray
as Jourdonnais
Henri Letondal
as Labadie
Booth Colman
as Pascal
Paul H. Frees
as McMasters
Frank de Kova
as Moleface
Guy Wilkerson
as Longface
Max Wagner
Jay Novello
Sam Ash
Don Beddoe
as Horse Trader
Frank Lackteen

Crew

Howard Hawks
Director
Howard Hawks
Producer
Dudley Nichols
Screenwriter
Russell Harlan
Cinematographer
Dimitri Tiomkin
Composer (Music Score)
Dimitri Tiomkin
Musical Direction/Supervision
Christian Nyby
Editor
Albert S. D'Agostino
Art Director
Darrell Silvera
Set Designer
Don Steward
Special Effects
Mel Burns
Makeup
Advertisement