Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Big Doll House Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P94379~Jack Hill~jackhill]] directed this alternately brutal and campy look at desperate women behind bars. An American named Collier ([[Performer~P207292~Judy Brown~judybrown]]) has been convicted of murder in the Philippines and is sentenced to a grim women's prison in the jungle, where a mysterious German woman, Miss Deitrich ([[Performer~P63724~Christiane Schmidtmer~christianeschmidtmer]]), is the warden, and her head guard, sadistic Lucian ([[Performer~P42917~Katheryn Loder~kathrynloder]]), keeps her charges in line through intimidation and violence. Collier shares a cell with tough-talking bisexual prostitute Grear ([[Performer~P28768~Pam Grier~pamgrier]]), hard-boiled political prisoner Bodine ([[Performer~P77382~Pat Woodell~patriciawoodell]]), thick-skinned but good-humored Alcott ([[Performer~P14267~Roberta Collins~robertacollins]]), drug-addicted Harrad ([[Performer~P49368~Brooke Mills~brookemills]]), and tight-lipped Ferina (Gina Stuart). Bodine's boyfriend is the leader of an underground revolutionary faction, and when she learns he and his comrades are in danger, she begins to plot an escape for herself and her cellmates, with travelling peddlers Harry ([[Performer~P29604~Sid Haig~sidhaig]]) and Fred ([[Performer~P24755~Jerry Frank~jerryfrank]]) becoming her unwitting collaborators. Meanwhile, Lucian is stepping up her torture of the prisoners at the behest of a mysterious masked stranger, and Collier is determined to find out who is behind the systematic brutality. The Big Doll House was the first "Women In Prison" exploitation epic produced for [[Performer~P85920~Roger Corman~rogercorman]]'s New World Pictures; it was a big hit on the dive-in and grind house circuit, and spawned dozens of imitations (which are still being produced today). By the way, that's [[Performer~P28768~Pam Grier~pamgrier]] singing the theme song! ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Cast

Christiane Schmidtmer
as Miss Dietrich
Brooke Mills
as Harrad
Charles Davis
as Dr. Phillips
Pam Grier
as Grear
Sid Haig
as Harry
Roberta Collins
as Alcott
Kathryn Loder
as Lucian
Jerry Frank
as Fred

Crew

Jack Hill
Director
Cirio Santiago
Producer
Roger Corman
Producer
Jane Schaffer
Producer
Ben Otico
Producer
Eddie Romero
Producer
Don Spencer
Screenwriter
Freddie Conde
Cinematographer
Hall Daniels
Composer (Music Score)
Les Baxter
Composer (Music Score)
Barbara Pokras
Editor
Ben Otico
Production Designer
Advertisement