Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Bicentennial Man Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

If a robot spends enough time around humans, can he learn to become one of them? The Martin family purchases a domestic android as a servant and names him Andrew ([[Performer~P116900~Robin Williams~robinwilliams]]). Andrew comes to know the man of the house as Sir ([[Performer~P52123~Sam Neill~samneill]]), his wife as Ma'am [[Performer~P15759~Wendy Crewson~wendycrewson]], and their daughter as Portia ([[Performer~P17230~Embeth Davidtz~embethdavidtz]]); before long, the Martins suspect that they do not have an ordinary robot on their hands. Andrew seems capable of expressing emotion and generating original thoughts, and the longer he stays with the Martins, the more strongly these human traits manifest themselves. Over the next 200 years, Andrew becomes less a machine and more a member of the family, until a mechanic ([[Performer~P57054~Oliver Platt~oliverplatt]]) tells Andrew that he might be able to turn him into a human being. Based on a short story by renowned science fiction author [[Performer~P80088~Isaac Asimov~isaacasimov]] (surprisingly, it's only the second [[Performer~P80088~Asimov~isaacasimov]] story to be brought to the screen), Bicentennial Man was directed by [[Performer~P85595~Chris Columbus~chriscolumbus]], who previously worked with [[Performer~P116900~Robin Williams~robinwilliams]] on [[Feature~V119900~Mrs. Doubtfire~mrsdoubtfire]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:December 17, 1999

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Greg Cannom Best Makeup 1999 Nominee

Cast

Robin Williams
as Andrew
Sam Neill
as Sir
Wendy Crewson
as Ma'am
Embeth Davidtz
as Little Miss / Portia
Oliver Platt
as Rupert Burns
Hallie Kate Eisenberg
as Little Miss, age 7
Stephen Root
as Dennis Mansky
Lynne Thigpen
as Female President
Bradley Whitford
as Lloyd
Kiersten Warren
as Galatea
John Michael Higgins
as Bill Feingold
George D. Wallace
as Male President

Crew

Chris Columbus
Director
Chris Columbus
Producer
Wolfgang Petersen
Producer
Laurence Mark
Producer
Neal Miller
Producer
Mark A. Radcliffe
Producer
Gail Katz
Producer
Michael Barnathan
Producer
Nicholas Kazan
Screenwriter
Robert Silverberg
Book Author
Phil Meheux
Cinematographer
James Horner
Composer (Music Score)
Neil Travis
Editor
Norman Reynolds
Production Designer
Bruton Jones
Art Director
Mark Mansbridge
Art Director
Paula DuPre Pesman
Associate Producer
Dan Kolsrud
Executive Producer
Darrell L. Wight
Set Designer
Geoff Hubbard
Set Designer
Bill Taliaferro
Set Designer
James Tocci
Set Designer
Anne Kuljian
Set Designer
Joseph G. Aulisi
Costume Designer
Nelson Stoll
Sound/Sound Designer
Randy Thom
Sound/Sound Designer
David Sardi
First Assistant Director
Jane Jenkins
Casting
Janet Hirshenson
Casting
Isaac Asimov
Short Story Author
Keith Vanderlaan
Makeup Special Effects
Robert Shoup
Sound Editor
Greg Cannom
Makeup Special Effects
Advertisement