Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Beyond the Clouds Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The many ways in which men are fascinated, compelled, and confused by their attraction to women are explored in this four part drama. As a filmmaker ([[Performer~P44846~John Malkovich~johnmalkovich]]) tries to sort out his plans for his next film, he considers several stories about women and the men who love them. Silvano ([[Performer~P68825~Kim Rossi Stuart~kimrossistuart]]) meets Carmen ([[Performer~P151875~Ines Sastre~inessastre]]) and immediately asks her for a date, but despite his attraction, he can't follow through on his feelings for her. The director spies a woman on the streets ([[Performer~P45296~Sophie Marceau~sophiemarceau]]) and follows her obsessively, but when he finally meets her, he's disappointed, despite their mutual physical attraction. Roberto ([[Performer~P75401~Peter Weller~peterweller]]) and his wife Patricia ([[Performer~P2121~Fanny Ardant~fannyardant]]) have to deal with their anger about each other's infidelities, as well as their problems with their lovers, Olga ([[Performer~P11548~Chiara Caselli~chiaracaselli]]) and Carlo ([[Performer~P59644~Jean Reno~jeanreno]]). And Niccolo ([[Performer~P56052~Vincent Perez~vincentperez]]) falls in love at first sight with a young woman ([[Performer~P34890~Irene Jacob~irènejacob]]), unaware that she is studying to become a nun. Par-Dela Les Nuages was [[Performer~P79780~Michelangelo Antonioni~michelangeloantonioni]]'s first film after a massive stroke derailed his directorial career in 1985; [[Performer~P116407~Wim Wenders~wimwenders]] served as his collaborator on the project. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:September 3, 1995

Crew

Wim Wenders
Director
Michelangelo Antonioni
Director
Philippe Carcassonne
Producer
Stephane Tchalgadjieff
Producer
Wim Wenders
Screenwriter
Michelangelo Antonioni
Screenwriter
Tonino Guerra
Screenwriter
Alfio Contini
Cinematographer
Robby Müller
Cinematographer
Van Morrison
Songwriter
Vincent Arnardi
Musical Direction/Supervision
Thierry Lebon
Musical Direction/Supervision
U2
Songwriter
Peter Przygodda
Editor
Michelangelo Antonioni
Editor
Claudio di Mauro
Editor
Thierry Flamand
Production Designer
Ulrich Felsberg
Co-producer
Vittorio Cecchi Gori
Co-producer
Brigitte Faure
Executive Producer
Pierre Roitfeld
Executive Producer
Denis Barbier
Set Designer
Esther Walz
Costume Designer
Christian Guillon
Special Effects
Beatrice Banfi
First Assistant Director
Judith Gayo
Makeup
Advertisement